Eggnog Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is quite good and different! After reading the reviews i made some alterations. I only used 2 cups of sugar instead of 3 because everyone was saying how sweet it was. Also, i added an extra half cup of eggnog, as everyone was saying it was too crumbly and dry. I cut it before it was fully finished hardening up to prevent any breakage as well. My boyfriend loved it and ate quite a few pieces. It is still super sweet even with only 2 cups of sugar. I might try 1 1/2 cups next time. Tip: Make sure you put it in a 9x9 pan because it was way too thin in a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Turned out hard and crumbly. Should use a candy thermometer to cook to the correct stage. Boiling for 6 minutes was much too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This fudge is amazing! I normally don't like fudge but this one is so, so good. I was a bit more liberal with cinnamon and nutmeg than the recipe indicated and I skipped lining the pan with foil and just sprayed it with Pam. Excellent and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
I don't know what happened to this fudge but it was a complete disaster. I followed the directions to the letter and it only came out as a dry, crumbly mess, the texture of granola. Couldn't even bother spreading it in the pan. It didn't burn so I don't know what happened. I did half the recipe but that should not have made a difference. Hope others have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I love eggnog, & I loved the flavor of this fudge! It was great for Christmas-- I had more than 1 person tell me it was their favorite selection from my cookie plate. But it did turn out a little grainy & too soft... although the recipe does not call for a candy thermometer, I would suggest using one anyway to get the best texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I cut the recipe in half and omitted the cinnamon (I've never had it in eggnog, so I figured it made sense to leave it out of eggnog fudge) and the almonds. I followed the recipe, and even turned down the heat when it started to boil - but allowed it to keep boiling. It still turned out rather hard. Not need-to-use-a-hammer hard, but not the smooth, creamy consistancy that I look for in fudge. As for the taste, it was good. Tasted like eggnog and VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made this last Christmas to give out to family in treat bags as gifts. Everyone loved it! I had quite a bit left over so what I didn't keep for myself I took to work with me. My tin was empty in no time! I will definitely be making this recipe again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
My husband said it would be cool if I could make eggnog fudge (he loves eggnog). So I searched for the recipe & made it for him. He loves it. He also took some to work and they gobbled it up. I added 1/2 tsp Imitation Rum flavoring and it was yummy. I think I will skip the nuts next time- kinda out of place to me when the drink doesn't have nuts in it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Like several others here, my first attempt with this recipe was a disaster - the fudge was so grainy and hard I could hardly get it out of the saucepan. I was very disappointed. I searched the net and found some other versions of this recipe and several stressed the importance of using regular, not low-fat eggnog - so I think that was my critical error. I tried it again with regular eggnog and a few other modifications I saw in other comments: 2 c. sugar, only 5 minutes on the second boil, 1/2 t. rum extract, and I used an 8 x 8 pan. It turned out perfect this time and I can't wait to serve it on Christmas Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This fudge definately tasted like eggnog! It smelled wonderfully festive while cooking. I added butterscotch chips instead of the white chocolate. Definitely went well with the nutmeg sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States