Eggnog Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I brought this fudge to a cookie exchange. I warned everyone because I am not the best cook. It went over really well. People who were not even the biggest fans of egg nog, like my roommate, liked it. It is really sweet and if your not closely watching it at all times, it can "burn" and get really hard when it cools. I made 8 batches of this fudge for my cookie exchange and 5 of them turned out ok. The first one really well and then progressivly got worse. It seemed like 6 minutes was too long, I did it more for like 4 -5 minutes and I agree with less sugar and possibly more eggnog ... but overall it is quick if you're only making one batch it is easy, you just have to watch it .. like a toddler!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is quite good and different! After reading the reviews i made some alterations. I only used 2 cups of sugar instead of 3 because everyone was saying how sweet it was. Also, i added an extra half cup of eggnog, as everyone was saying it was too crumbly and dry. I cut it before it was fully finished hardening up to prevent any breakage as well. My boyfriend loved it and ate quite a few pieces. It is still super sweet even with only 2 cups of sugar. I might try 1 1/2 cups next time. Tip: Make sure you put it in a 9x9 pan because it was way too thin in a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Disaster. I followed the recipe instructions but reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup based on other reviews regarding the sweetness. When I added the chips they would not melt. I had to put the pot over heat again and they still would not melt. I finally just poured it into the pan and after two hours it still had the consistency of jelly. I was so excited to try this. What a disappointment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This is yummy and easy. I actually added 1 teaspoon of apple pie spice seasoning and 1 teaspon of nutmeg for the flavoring. I think you could season it however you like your eggnog.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kokoskorner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I cut the recipe in half and omitted the cinnamon (I've never had it in eggnog, so I figured it made sense to leave it out of eggnog fudge) and the almonds. I followed the recipe, and even turned down the heat when it started to boil - but allowed it to keep boiling. It still turned out rather hard. Not need-to-use-a-hammer hard, but not the smooth, creamy consistancy that I look for in fudge. As for the taste, it was good. Tasted like eggnog and VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was very simple and turned out delicious. Definitely one that I will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Very good! I did have a bit of trouble cutting the fudge after it hardened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frostburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was a disasaster. It crumbled when I went I cut it. No one in my family liked it, and we all love egg nog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
My husband said it would be cool if I could make eggnog fudge (he loves eggnog). So I searched for the recipe & made it for him. He loves it. He also took some to work and they gobbled it up. I added 1/2 tsp Imitation Rum flavoring and it was yummy. I think I will skip the nuts next time- kinda out of place to me when the drink doesn't have nuts in it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This fudge is amazing! I normally don't like fudge but this one is so, so good. I was a bit more liberal with cinnamon and nutmeg than the recipe indicated and I skipped lining the pan with foil and just sprayed it with Pam. Excellent and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States