Eggnog Fruit Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The loaf came out really well. I think next time I will add more cherries and use mixed fruit instead of raisins. I will also add a bit of nutmeg as it could have been a bit spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Born Canadian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Not crazy about this. I followed the recipe exactly, but it was too dry and not sweet enough, even with the addition of a coarse sugar topping. It didn't have a strong eggnog flavor, and I would definitely increase the fruit. It did look very pretty, though. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I doubled the recipe and got two regular sized loaves as well as one slightly larger loaf. I reduced the baking time to 60 minutes, it doesn't need more than that. I used 3 cups of add-ins (mixture of green/red candied cherries, raisins and other candied fruit though I omitted the nuts) that I soaked for a day in the remnants of a bottle of Tia Maria (that which I later poured over the cakes after pricking them a little). I do think this it could use another cup of add-ins, but that's personal preference as the fruit cake my mother used to make was literally jam-packed with add-ins. I also added 2 tsps. of homemade pumpkin/apple pie spice. The eggnog flavour was barely detectable (maybe because of the addition of alcohol), so the next go around I'll try making it with milk to make it more cost effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
made this over the holiday family like it enough that i made a second one 2 weeks after... but the first one was a little dry so on my second round i just add a little bit more eggnog and bake it for 60 instead of 70 mins. and come out nice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale K. Beard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This bread is definitely going to become a Christmas tradition. It is absolutely delicious. I prepared the recipe exactly as written except I omitted the raisins. I probably could have taken it out of the oven at 60 minutes but forgot about it until the timer went off at 70. It was a little dry on the outside but inside ... mmmm ..... Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious! I baked it for only 60 minutes, and should have taken it out earlier still. I used full fat, full flavor egg nog, and switched out chunks of a dried fruit bar for the candied fruit, which I did not have on hand. The dough is springy and moist, and I thought it was very flavorful. My hubby and I ate half the loaf for breakfast, it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This bread is pretty good. I exchanged currants and raisins for candied fruit. The bread did not have as much flavor as I expected. I have to adjust recipes because we live in 6000F and bread came out little dry. I am not sure if that is my adjustments or it is drier type of bread. It could be good with little bit of honey or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
So easy to make and it turned out excellent! This was an experiment for me, as I made a few adjustments to accommodate my egg allergy and to also make it a little lower in calories (used egg substitute, light egg nog and only 1/4 sugar and the rest Splenda)so I did not expect it to turn out. I baked it for only 60 minutes and the result was a moist, delicious bread that everyone loves. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madkatharine
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This turned out wonderful- I could tell it's a good cake batter by how smooth it was once mixed. I used golden raisins, currants, and dried cranberries. The texure of the cake is perfect: not crumbly around the fruit, moist without being terribly dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States