Eggnog from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I make this every year at Christmas. It is so rich and delicious! But it has me wondering now, why do I only make this at Christmas? It should be a staple to my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have been making eggnog using this recipe the last 4 years. This stuff is so good, it's ridiculous! I make four batches of this stuff for our Christmas Eve party and it's gone before you know it. As others have said, I halved the sugar. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this with my Bialetti hot chocolate maker (heats it enough to make me comfortable, but not enough to cook the milk and eggs) and then I chilled it for about 6 - 8 hours. I prefer everything less sweet, so I used less sugar. Because I was making it for both drinkers and non drinkers, I left the rum on the side. Overall, I liked it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Let me start off by saying I have always HATED eggnog in the carton. Everyone kept telling me I needed to try 'real' eggnog, so I decided to make my own. Wow! This was the best eggnog I've ever tried. Following other reviewers' suggestions, I used less sugar, warmed the milk with the eggs, and added a small amount of rum after pouring a glass (this way my daughter could enjoy it too). I might use even less sugar next time, since it is really sweet, but it is delicious. I can't wait to serve this at Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Eggs are raw, serving size is too big and too strong. Also needs nutmeg. Overall was drinkable but will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Followed it as written except used 2% milk because that's all I had. My first egg nog. Creamy and delicious. Chilled in freezer for 1 hour because I was anxious. Really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It was good hunny even though you poured it down the sink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Both adults and kids loved this! Of course, I omitted the alcohol from the kid version. It was great on Christmas day and sooo much better than the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
yum!!! loved it! I can't believe the amount of sugar in this drink, but I cant imagine it with less. I used 2% milk and it worked out fine. I used some agave instead of all sugar, I would have used more, but ran out. I didn't use vanilla, and it is fine without. I think I didn't have to use so much rum, but I'm not sure how to properly make up for that, more milk? Thanks, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My guests raved about this egg nog! I used local, farm fresh eggs and milk. I did not bother separating the eggs: this left an occasional slimy bit in the nog, which could be prevented by beating the egg whites until stiff. I did halve the sugar and the spiced rum (Kracken brand) ~ perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States