Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I was so disappointed with the way this turned out. I used the texas toast as I always do with french toast and followed the rest of the recipe exact. Since the batter has more liquid than typical french toast batter it soaked into the bread much more making the finished product very soggy. The flavor was fantastic but I ended up eating around the edges only due to the sogginess. My husband who loves egg nog and french toast asked if he had to eat anymore. Very disappointing Christmas breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Fantastic! A staple for Christmas breakfast in our family every year. I like to use the thick-cut Texas toast and definitely soak it overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These were great, but the eggnog flavor is a little overpowering (less so once you add syrup). Next time I think I'll do half eggnog, half regular milk. Yummy regardless :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used thickish sliced bread and ran out of egg/eggnog mixture after only 5 slices. I couldn't taste the nog and although I grilled the bread for ages, the middle was still soggier than I'd hoped for. I guess I'll blame the cook for too aggressive of a dip and too thick of bread. Wonder if baking in oven would have yielded a better result?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Everyone loved it, even the people who dislike egg nog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was QUITE good...I think I like regular french toast maybe a bit better, but that might be because I can't stand eggnog! :) LOL. My siblings and parents liked it a lot. We used wheat bread, (we rarely have french handy, except for special occasions), and we tripled everything but the cinnamon, which we did 1 Tbls. Would definitely recommend this to those who like eggnog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
just made it for my husband and we will be making it again....and again..and again!! thanks for sharing :) very easy, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was awesome!! I made my own pumpkin pie spice and made an eggnog glaze, then topped it with syrup and topped it with whipped cream! It was amazing! My husband who hates egg nog loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lumbee Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very good, will make again. I used challah bread. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krayzie4him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Wonderful holiday breakfast recipe! Our family loves them for brinner, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States