Eggnog French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
yum! I added freshly ground nutmeg, only 1 t cinnamon, and 1/2 t pumpkin pie spice. I sprayed a 9x13 baking dish with baking spray, packed bread slices in the pan and poured the batter over the whole thing. Covered with plastic wrap and refrigerated it overnight. This morning I took it out for an hour (Letting my glass baking dish come up to room temperature) then baked the french toast for 40 min. in a 350*F oven...divine! We didn't even use syrup, the eggnog taste was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Yum! I used cheap white bread in this recipe instead of french bread. When I made the egg mix, I used the leftover homemade eggnog that I had in the fridge. I didn't use pumpkin pie spice, I used more nutmeg and added a tsp. of rum flavoring. Really good. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
My husband, 2 yr. old, and I loved this recipe. I think next time I will cut back a little on the cinnamon as I thought it overpowered the eggnog flavor a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I modified this recipe a little (less cinnamon, added sugar) and decided to try the suggestion to soak the bread overnight for more flavor. I don't have anything that holds 12 pieces of bread flat (does anyone?) so I stacked the bread in a plastic container with a lid, and poured the mixture in between and on top, but ran out at the end. In order to try to soak all the pieces, I flipped the container a couple times. There must be a better way, because the next morning the pieces were so soaked that they were hard to get on the griddle in bread-shaped pieces. If someone else has a different way, let us know. Otherwise, stick to the standard dip-and-grill method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I saw Eggnog French Toast on a restaurant menu and thought, I can make this at home.....logged onto All Recipes, and found this fabulous recipe, and made it for dinner one evening last week!! I am making it for Christmas day breakfast. I added 1TBL sugar,to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for Christmas morning and everyone really liked it! I read through a lot of the reviews and did adopt several alterations: I used 4 eggs and about 1 cup of eggnog, used nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice. Like several others, I made it the night before: put the bread in a 9 x 12 pan and poured the egg mixture over all. Refrigerated overnight, covered in foil, then put in a 375 oven for about 35 min, til nicely browned. So easy and delicious; I can see this becoming a new Christmas morning tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Instead of pumpkin pie spice, I just bought Pumpkin Spice Eggnog. I used whole grain white bread rather than French. My family loved this! It's a nice change of pace, and perfect for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I had to change the recipe as it is the toast gets too soggy. I use 4 eggs and 1 cup egg nog then just nutmeg dashed in before I dip each one because the spice just floats on the top and is gone after a few slices are dipped. We always use Kings Hawaiian bread sliced thick. Dip the bread quickly and then cook immediatly. Tastes great with blueberry syrup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I didn't tweak this recipe at all and it was fabulous. Had to make it two days in a row for my kids and mother in law. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very good, the eggnog flavor is a nice change to a classic recipe. I went light on the spices but next time i think i will go ahead and use all of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States