Eggnog Creme Brulee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
With this delicious recipe, think "custard" not "creme brulee" and I think you will be happier with the outcome. If you are expecting a creme brulee texture, you will be a bit disappointed, but if you make this with the expectation that you will have a delicious eggnog custard, you will most likely be very happy. I make this as written with the exception of using Neufchatel cheese in place of the mascarpone and it is a family favorite that is absolutely delicious! I do not brulee the top, but that is just personal preference. I just think it is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I love eggnog and I love creme brulee. The two are a match made in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very festive! Everyone loved it. I thought I would keep it basic though so I didn't use cheese. I also cut the egg nog about 50:50 with half and half cream, then used a pinch of cinnamon. Once it had been refrigerated for 3 hours, I spread a thin, even layer of white sugar on top and caramelized it with a brulee torch. It worked out perfectly. Very interested to try it with spiced rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
It was very good. I liked the idea of adding Mascapone cheese. However, it's pretty pricey, so I substituted cream cheese. The recipe said nothing about the brulee sugar on top so this was more like an Eggnog custard. I know how to brulee so I just added some white sugar on the top of each and torched it. Very simple. I used it for a pre-Christmas dinner party and everyone said they loved it. I know I'll make it again so long as the eggnog is still available in the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I just made this at work today for a few customers, my chef and myself and we all admitted it was absolutely fantastic, very great recipe! I will be using this a lot this christmas, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
this was easy and a great way to use up some leftover eggnog and mascarpone cheese I had bought for a holiday dish. It tasted great and came out super creamy. Would definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
rich and creamy creme brulee. Great for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I was craving an eggnog pie, so I used this recipe as the filling. I made it as listed on the site, except I added brandy in place of the optional vanilla. I baked the filling in a deep dish regular pastry pie crust, in a water bath, until firm, approximately 55 minutes. Just awesome - great rich eggnog flavor, with a firm creamy texture from the marscapone. Since there was no burnt sugar on top, I would compare this more to a custard than a creme brulee. I will definitely make again, as custard or pie. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
this was delicious and I did add 1/4 cup Brandy to take it over the top..... I doubled the recipe - plan alcohol accordingly! an additional note is that normally I place the ramekins in a 9x13 inch baking pan with 1 inch of water for very even baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I thought this was fantastic. I love creme brulee and eggnog and this combines the two well. I covered the top in a half white/half brown sugar topping and torched it to give it that restaurant creme brulee taste and it turned out marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States