Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These cookies are very good. However, it did not come without changes to the recipe. Let me start... first, is used butter flavored crisco instead of the butter, used half white sugar and half brown sugar and added only half of the vanilla with the other half being rum flavoring. Plus I'm using a simple cookie frosting using eggnog and rum flavoring. Very good cookie, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Very good. Wonderful cookies. I also made the icing, but be careful. A little bit goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I took the others suggestions and cut the nutmeg in half, increased the eggnog to 3/4 cup and used all brown sugar. I did have to bake them for 20 minutes, but I am at high altitude too. I also made a frosting of powered sugar, eggnog and 1/2 teaspoon rum flavoring, then sprinkled chopped pecans on top. Hubby was skeptical, until he tasted one - Glad I made a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
While not a fancy looking cookie, the taste is absolutely awesome. My family loved them!! Upped the eggnog a little and decreased the nutmeg only slightly. (Note that nutmeg is notorius for overpowering a recipe, esp if it's good quality and a fresh new jar - so go easy...you can always add more). I iced them with eggnog frosting to dress them up for a cookie exchange, but they were delicious on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Yummy recipe! I agree that the nutmeg needs to be cut in 1/2. The first batch I made was a little strong on the nutmeg. Also, I mixed sugar and cinnamon and sprinkled those on the cookies before baking. That was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
YUMMY! I'll need to make another batch to give away because hubby and I keep eating these! Another review suggested a glaze of 1 cup confectioners sugar with 2 Tbsp. eggnog (we used 3); this was a nice finishing touch to the cookie, especially with nutmeg sprinkled over the glaze. I got 24 cookies out of this recipe and, since they didn't spread much while baking, will definitely make them smaller and flatter next time. And there WILL be a next time - did I say yum?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as it was and these turned out great! Can't wait to see what my friends think of them at my Christmas party on Friday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These are pretty good - my husband who is not a fan of eggnog likes them. I used brown sugar and added extra 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 eggnog, baked at 325 for 15-20 minutes and glazed with eggnog icing. However, this recipe does not make 6 dozen as stated - I got 3 dozen out of the batch I made and had to make an additional batch for the cookie party I was going to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I love these cookies and have ever since I found the recipe in a Christmas cookie cookbook. Easy to make and always a hit with friends. My recipe always had 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I use that or less when making these cookies and don't sprinkle any on the top. Instead I make an eggnog glaze to drizzle over the top- 1.5 cup confectioner sugar, 1-2 tbs butter very soft, 1 tsp vanilla- mix together. Than add eggnog to drizzle consistency. Fantastic way to increase the eggnog flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
These are AWESOME!! I did use 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Other than that I didn't do anything different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Angie Bodholdt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States