Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made these cookies for Christmas and my entire family devoured them. Even for people who don't like eggnog these could just be considered your normal sugar/spice cookies with a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne_Raine
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good recipe with the changes suggested by the other reviewers. I also cut the amount of nutmeg down to 1/4 tsp. I changed the sugar to 1/2 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown. The dough is a little strange when you drop by a teaspoon so I put the dough into a ziploc bag and then cut a corner to make my cookie mounds. I then wet my finger with water and pushed down in the middle of the cookie to give it a better shape. This made beautiful round cookies. I did not sprinkle any additional nutmeg on the cookie since I feel it is such a strong spice. After baking, I iced the cookies with a powdered sugar icing mixed with rum. This gave the cookie an extra zing. I only wish that the recipe would have used up more of my eggnog but I am now looking at a bundt cake that uses leftover nog or french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Pretty good cookies, I did use 2x as much eggnog and did the sugar 1/2 brown 1/2 white. Tasty and different. Mine stayed soft - maybe should have cooked longer so they would get crispier. But still enjoyed them for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
the eggnog flavor is mild with a little nutmeg flavor which is perfect, crispy on the edge and a little chewy in the center...so delicious. it took me 30 min of baking to have the bottoms turn light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Amazing!!! I'm not an EggNog fan but my husband is, so I gave the recipe a try. I made a frosting to go with the cookies: I blended cream cheese with icing sugar, eggnog, pinch of cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg. The perfect pair to these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I did what the other reviewers suggested and upped the eggnog to 3/4 cup of eggnog and went half and half with white sugar and brown sugar. They weren't turning out to be the most beautiful cookies so I chilled the dough in the fridge and rolled them into balls and then flattened them a tad right before sticking them into the oven. Flavor was great, just perfect for me and my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPENWALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made these cookies combining the changes that were recommended, they were great. I ended up using 1/2 brown sugar, and a little more eggnog. A basic glaze-frosting worked out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made these cookies for a cookie exchange and they turned out great. My family enjoyed them and we're looking forward to baking these every year. I followed the recipe to the letter and added the eggnog frosting as well. YUM, YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mayyadasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great cookies, yum! Although, they were made a LOT better with a dash of Rum Extract... I would definitely suggest that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SBG
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I had just purchased some Eggnog cookies at a bake sale and they were so good had to run home and recreate. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I did tweak it based on others reviews (I used a little more eggnog and only 1/2 tsp. vanilla)..but the one thing I copied from the bake sale cookies that I thought really added a lot of flavor was after the batter was mixed, I folded in about 1/2 cup pecan pieces. I used the powdered sugar/eggnog frosting and then sprinkled a few pecan pieces on the top. I also shaped them into longer cookies..just because that's what they looked like at the bake sale, but I'm sure they'd be just as cute round. A yummy addition to my cookie swap this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States