Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My oldest daughter hates cookies but loves eggnog, so I thought I would give these a try. She ate them up so they must be good. I personally am not an eggnog fan but they sure made my house smell good. As with other reviews, I cut the nutmeg in half and used 3/4 cup eggnog. I also used a bit more vanilla. I made a frosting using 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/2 cup of eggnog. They look and smell great and they passed the test of a non-cookie eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Valley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dixon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
If I were to try this recipe again I would follow it exactly.I took some other reviewers ideas and cut the nutmeg in half and added extra eggnog. They turned out, but were bland and did not have a very nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This cookies were really good! I did some of the recommended alterations like, half white sugar and half brown sugar, and 3/4 cup of eggnog. But I also used 1 teaspoon of Allspice(instead of nutmeg), and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. They have a nice flavor, and it isn't overpowering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielleincanada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These cookies are out of this world!! They are so incredibly soft, and be sure to make the eggnog icing for the top. I colored it with orange food coloring to be festive. My husband said they are the best cookies he's ever had (in the soft sugar cookie category). I too fell in love. We will be sure to make these often. Ohh and I too used 3/4 cup of eggnog as I am a big fan of it :) ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Perfect cookies! I subbed brown sugar for white as someone has noted. It did take the full 20 min at 300 to bake. So soft and very tasty (not bland)! These cookies are so easy. Great way to use up the end of the eggnog. They will be a regular during the holidays with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used a very rich eggnog in the recipe so I thought that would add extra flavor...still very very mild cookie. The eggnog icing helped make it a little more flavorful. My son who does not like rich sweet things enjoyed them, however....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
THESE COOKIES WITH A FEW CHANGES TURNED OUT GREAT LIKE ANOTHER REVIEWER WE USED 1/2 WHITE AND 1/2 BROWN SUGAR ALSO MADE A SECOND BATCH WITH JUST WHITE SUGAR THE ONES WITH THE BROWN SUGAR WERE BETTER BY FAR ALSO ADDED EXTRA EGGNOG. FOR THE FROSTING I USED CAPTAIN MORGAN SPICED RUM. THESE WILL BE USED FOR A COOKIE EXCHANGE THIS WEEKEND. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made these last night and they turned out beautifully! Followed another reviewers advice and substituted 1/2 the white sugar for brown. They stayed very moist. Sprinkled the tops with powdered sugar. Very pretty! So easy to make, especially for a novice baker like myself. My husband (who doesn't like eggnog) loved them as did my two year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
So, I loved it. I increased the eggnog to 3/4 cup and added a touch more flour to compensate. They are VERY sticky going into the oven but come out fabulous. They do look opaque after cooking so I recommend the nutmeg and/or frosting for color. Very moist & a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I liked this recipe as a base since it did turn out nice, soft, cakelike cookies. I did use salted butter and added a 1/2 tsp of salt which was not called for in the recipe. Additionally, I added a generous teaspoon of rum extract along with the vanilla. After they baked I frosted them with a frosting I'd made with conf. sugar, butter, eggnog and more rum and vanilla extracts. With these changes the cookies real tasted like eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States