Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
A tasty holiday cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coupgrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This appears to be the exact recipe i've been using for several years now. I can't remember my source, some other now unknown website. Regardless these cookies are great! I'm not an eggnog drinker, but love these cookies. They're soft and have just the perfect amount of spice. You will always find Eggnog Cookies amoung my holiday baking goodies somewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is a cake-like cookie. I should have known that when I saw the baking powder in the recipe. If you're looking for a more dense, sugar cookie"ish" texture, keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I love eggnog but thought these cookies were just okay. I wouldn't make them again. The nutmeg was a little strong for me. I even tried sprinkling with cinnamon instead but the nutmeg taste was still too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These cookies are VERY rich. Like others, I increased the egg nog to 3/4 C, increased the flour to 2 1/2 cups, decreased the nutmeg to 1/2 teaspoon and used 1/2 tsp rum extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla. They were done in 14 minutes. I coated the cookies in colored sugar because anything else would've been too much. The dough is way to sticky to put in a press and they come out 'ugly' if you don't do something. I dropped it onto a cookie sheet and the lightly rolled it into a ball before sprinkling the sugar on it. The cookies came out round and not as ugly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Added my own touch to this recipe. Increased the eggnog to 3/4 cup, and the cinnamon to 1 teas. as we are not fans of nutmeg but love eggnog also lightly sprinkled the top with cinnamon, they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These were great. I did 1/2 white sugar 1/25 brown and reduced the amount of allspice. I also made a glaze out of 1.5 cup powder sugar, 2 tbls soft butter and enough eggnog to get the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made these cookies for Christmas and my entire family devoured them. Even for people who don't like eggnog these could just be considered your normal sugar/spice cookies with a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne_Raine
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good recipe with the changes suggested by the other reviewers. I also cut the amount of nutmeg down to 1/4 tsp. I changed the sugar to 1/2 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown. The dough is a little strange when you drop by a teaspoon so I put the dough into a ziploc bag and then cut a corner to make my cookie mounds. I then wet my finger with water and pushed down in the middle of the cookie to give it a better shape. This made beautiful round cookies. I did not sprinkle any additional nutmeg on the cookie since I feel it is such a strong spice. After baking, I iced the cookies with a powdered sugar icing mixed with rum. This gave the cookie an extra zing. I only wish that the recipe would have used up more of my eggnog but I am now looking at a bundt cake that uses leftover nog or french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Pretty good cookies, I did use 2x as much eggnog and did the sugar 1/2 brown 1/2 white. Tasty and different. Mine stayed soft - maybe should have cooked longer so they would get crispier. But still enjoyed them for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States