Eggnog Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I thought these cookies were really good and they are somthing different than the original Christmas cookies. some people loved them. others not so good. You have to like eggnog to like these. Thanks for the great recipe I will be making more this Christmas. I refrigerate mine for about an hour or so before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?momma3?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This recipe won the annual Christmas Cookie Contest at my mom's house last year. I made them on foil and peeled the foil off, and they came off great. I also drizzled white chocolate across the top to add a little pizzaz. This dough is very versitile, since you can made the base without the nutmeg and then divide it into three bowls, add nutmeg to one for eggnog cookies, white chocolate chips to another, and molasses and ginger/cinnamon to another and get three different kinds of cookies from one mixing of dough. If you beat the dough a long time the cookies turn out nice and chewey. If they are too flat for you, just add a little more flour to the recipe. I always bake a test batch before I put the flour in the fridge for any reason. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I've made the cookies a few times and I have to say they are fantastic. They really do taste like Eggnog. Follow the recipe and you should have no problems. Well done and thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Palestine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I rarely add salt to dishes like this. So I just didn't add the salt. The butter has some in it after all. And it wasn't needed. They were still wonderful, and tasty, without the salt. I liked how soft, and almost cake like the cookie can be. They plump up beautifully. It's definitly a keeper. I found, however, the cookie was too sweet! Some said rich, but I found it was sweet. I'll be cutting the 2 cups of sugar to 1 1/2 cups next time, and hope that's enough of a reduction. After reading the recipe was kind of bland, in terms of seasonings, I spiced it up, adding 1 tsp Cinnamon, 1/4 Allspice, 1/4 tsp Ginger, 1/2 tsp Cloves in addition to the 1/2 tsp Nutmeg, since this is how I spice my eggnog drink. It seemed logical to me to season eggnog cookies the same way. The spicing was good, and I will keep the measurements as is. Makes for a spicy cookie, but not too spicy (at least not for me). I used rum extract in my frosting, instead of vanilla. I really liked that addition. Though I haven't figured out exactly how much extract to use to make sure it's enough, but not overpowering. I'm still playing with that. Perhaps when I figure out how much I like I'll update this message. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These were not as spicy as I had hoped for, so I did add another tsp of nutmeg, and 1tsp of a cinnamon/ginger blend. They baked up nice and soft, reminded me more of a snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These cookies were delicious! I doubled the nutmeg and even sprinkled more on top before I put them in the oven. I also added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon to the batter. They taste just like eggnog! They are nice and soft and rich! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Very bland, sorry. I even upped the vanilla and nutmeg. They are very light and fluffy though. They need frosting or something else to spice them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Absolutely the best cookies my family has ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
YUM!!! We made this tonight, and will be making at least two more batches for various family functions - I know the first one isn't going to make it until next week! These are tasty, but very plain looking. After the first sheet full, I sprinkled nutmeg over the tops - it really helps both the appearance and flavor. If you don't want to sprinkle more on top, then double the amt of nutmeg to get that eggnog flavor. My son loves eggnog, and he fell in love with these cookies! One note - my batter was really sticky, even after being refrigerated for quite a long time. It was humid here though, so it could have used some extra flour. I really liked them as well - of course, I like eggnog, but I also don't like super sweet cookies - these are more rich than sweet, which is just fine with me! To bake them, we used parchment paper over cookie sheets - I'd doubt these cookies will easily come off much of anything else! Just the nature of the cooky. They did just great, with no problems on burning or sticking. Thanks for sharing a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made these last night for a cookie tray. They smelled wonderful as they were baking. I doubled the nutmeg to give them a little more flavor. As is, I would give the recipe 3 stars, but I added a eggnog frosting to help them taste like eggnog (not just a sugar cookie) which bumped them up to 4 stars. Eggnog Frosting: 1/2 cup butter (beat until fluffly), beat with 3 c. powdered sugar, add 1/2 tsp. brandy extract and 4 TBSP. eggnog, beat an additional 2 min. *I added a few drops of yellow food coloring to the frosting to give it the look of eggnog. Overall, the cookie was good, but don't expect amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States