Eggnog Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This cheesecake turned out great! The changes I made was to add one cup of eggnog & an extra tablespoon of rum. I also added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and nutmeg to the crust. I wrapped the bottom of the springform pan with foil and baked it in a water-filled cookie pan. I baked it for the time specified and it came out perfect with no cracks. I followed what someone else said and I beat 1 cup whipping cream with 3 T powdered sugar and then I added 1 tsp. rum extract & 1 tsp. cinnamon. It really added to the eggnog flavor. Also, I microwaved the cream cheese and eggnog just until it was at room temp. and I mixed everything with my kitchenaid stand mixer and this worked very well. I'll definitely be making this every year for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This cheesecake is FANTASTIC. I used helpful suggestions from the other reviewers to make modifications, and here's my advice: 1. I scaled the recipe down to 11 servings so it used 2 pkgs of cream cheese. I used one pkg of full-fat cream cheese and one pkg of light, and it still tasted wonderfully rich. 3. I added about 3/4 to 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the batter, subbed 3/4 tbsp of vanilla extract for the rum (I didn't have any rum on hand), and used 1 cup eggnog. 4. MAKE THIS CHEESECAKE THE DAY BEFORE YOU NEED IT (I can't stress that enough; this recipe improves with time, and the flavor is much better the second day). 5. If you're using a store-bought graham cracker crust, there will be more batter than you need to fill the crust, so look up a "crustless cheesecake" recipe and use those directions for baking the excess batter. 6. Use a water bath (I just filled a cake pan with water and put it on the bottom rack of the oven, below the middle rack where the cheesecake was). 7. When it's finished cooking, turn off the heat, open the oven door a bit, and let it cool in there for a couple hours before refrigerating. This recipe is fantastic - it's definitely going to be an Xmas staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Excellent cheesecake! A great way to use leftover eggnog. I didn't have any rum, so I used vanilla extract instead - it still tasted as if alcohol had been added to it (DELICIOUS!). Since I didn't have a food processor big enough to fit the entire recipe, I used an electric beater. I made sure to beat the cream cheese mixture until very fluffy. It was so fluffy that I thought it would colapse after removing from the oven. To my surprise, it didn't. And, to give it a delicate flavor, I used crushed lady fingers in place of graham crakers. The final result was of a very light and creamy filling over a delicious crust. Perfect for making mini-sized cheesecakes (the kind that you can eat in 2 to 3 bites); a great addition to the finger-food menu of an elegant party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This may be the best cheesecake I've ever made. I brought this to our work holiday party and EVERYONE raved about it. Not too sweet, great eggnog flavor. I did a gingersnap crust instead of graham cracker and that complemented the nutmeg and eggnog beautifully and substituted vanilla extract for the rum. It was very easy to make and the biggest hit I've had at a potluck since I made chocolate bread pudding 4 years ago. Definitely a keeper for holiday desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is the most delicious cheesecake I've ever had. I've made dozens of them, and people have started hiring me to bake them for their Christmas parties this year. It always comes out perfectly, and is always a hit. I use my KitchenAid mixer and let it mix for a good, long while until everything is smooth and creamy. This recipe is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Very good. I substituted a little rum extract for the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This cheesecake had a great consistancy - not too heavy yet satisfying in the way only cheesecake can be. I used the Pecan Caramel sauce from Eggnog Cheesecake I at this site - it has dark rum in it and was perfect. I also added some spices ( 1/4 tsp each of ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon) to the crust. I don't have a food processor, I just mixed the heck out of it with my stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
When I set out to find an unusual holiday cheesecake recipe, I stumbled upon this one, which seemed like one of the easiest. Not only was it relatively easy, it was one of the smoothest, richest cheesecakes I've ever tasted. The eggnog flavor lends itself very well to this classic dessert. In addition to an eggnog cheesecake, I used the basic recipe but substituted pure almond flavor for the rum and then swirled it with freshly grated ginger before baking. Both were superlative. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Yum! This has to be one of the best cheesecakes I have ever made and I have made dozens! I changed the recipes a bit by adding cinnamon and nutmeg to the graham crust. This gave it a slightly stronger flavor and really 'set off' the egg nog taste in the cheesecake itself. If you are looking for a great holiday dessert...this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
We made this cheesecake twice over the holidays and everyone who ate it loved it, even my picky 5 year old! Creamy and decadent, the only alteration I could suggest would be adding a little nutmeg and cinnamon to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States