Eggnog Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have made this cheesecake twice now, just as written except for using 1tsp of rum extract instead of the actual rum. Made the batter in my food processor which did all the work. Comes out perfect, and is always the hit at the holiday party dinner. Also freezes without any problems and tastes just as good when thawed. I plan to make again to have one on hand in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was delicious. I added some cinnamon to the batter...and for the topping we used whipped cream with a sprinkle of cinnamon. Everyone loved it. I may add some rum next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made this last night for Christmas and it turned out delicious! What a great recipe, thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
So many additions and modifications. All very good. My only add is a ginger spiced whipped topping accent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauraellen225
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Yummy! I made 1/3 recipe, doubled the eggnog, subbed Brandy Extract for the rum, grated fresh nutmeg on top for garnish and baked in tartlet shells for a lovely addition to my Christmas Cookie selection. I baked the leftover cheesecake in souffle cups sprayed with non-stick spray for 30 minutes at 325. I'm going to make some more tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
BEST CHEESECAKE EVER! The cooking time/temp makes this cheesecake amazing. I made my crust with crushed cashews and graham crackers and added some nutmeg and cinnamon. Just spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent cheesecake, delicate taste of eggnog, smooth and delicious. I made chocolate icing to spread on top (4 oz bitter sweet chocolate microwave for 1 min, then add 1/3 cup of whipping cream and microwave for another 1 min). It was decadent but quite rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drbugs
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This cheesecake was really good. However, it was not as creamy and fluffy as I would've liked it. There's something missing. I did up the egg nog to 1 cup and the rum to 4 tablespoons to give it more egg nog flavour. I also replaced the crust with a gingersnap cookie crust. Pairing the cheesecake with a nutmeg whipped cream was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drbugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I would've given this recipe five stars, but I made it a second time, and now I'm torn. The first time, it worked great. (I added a little extra nutmeg to the crust and filling, and used a whole tiny airline bottle of dark rum.) The filling was smooth, fluffy and delicious. The second time, it didn't set. I had to put it back in the oven for another hour at 250, and after it cooled, it was UGLY. It had a huge dent in the center, and deep, canyonlike cracks. It looked like it had been hit with a meteor. And the crust... omg, gloppy goo. Still, it tasted great. I must have done something wrong the second time, but I can't imagine what that could have been. The worst part was, since the first one worked so beautifully, I had promised the second one to my husband for his office Christmas party. It just about killed me to send him off with a cheesecake that ugly. Really embarrassing. I guess my point is, this is a wonderful cheesecake, but it might not be the best one to make "under pressure." Have a Plan B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is heavenly! If you like cheesecake and you like eggnog, you WILL like this cheesecake! I followed the recipe exactly, in addition to using a water bath while it baked and also letting it cool in the oven rather than immediately removing it once baked. EXCELLENT recipe! Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddcrowley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States