Eggnog Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe! A traditional recipe at Examiner.com (see link below) calls for 2 tsp of rum extract in lieu of the 2 tablespoons of rum for those wanting to go lighter on the rum. I also wouldn't serve it without either carmel topping or the traditional carmel rum sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmj.nh
Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Absolutely amazing! I got rave reviews when I made this for Christmas. This will be my go-to recipe for cheesecake from now on...only thing I would recommend is not loosening the cheesecake from the ring immediately...my cheesecake had come out of the oven without any cracks and once I tried to remove the ring from the springform pan, I got a big crack, which was a dissapointment. I used a water bath also, always makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for a Progressive Dinner my neighborhood had. It was a big hit! Even people who said they weren't fans of eggnog enjoyed it. I followed the recipe to a t and it was amazing. The only bad thing was that my cheesecake cracked a little in the middle while cooling. I later found out it was because I over- mixed the ingredients. It was my first time making cheesecake so I wasn't really sure what I was doing. Everyone still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was such a hit last Christmas, everyone requested it again this year. This year I added an extra 1/4 cup of eggnog and topped the cooled cheesecake with a butter rum sauce with chopped toasted pecans. fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this for a Christmas eve family gathering instead of my usual cheesecake and everyone loved it! Definitely filling but has a great texture and the egg nog flavor comes through just right, although I think I'll add 3-4T rum next time to kick it up a bit. I made my own graham cracker crust using 12 crushed cinnamon grahams, 1/2 tsp each nutmeg/cinnamon, 3T each white sugar/melted butter (no need to bake...just keep in fridge until butter sets). I topped it with homemade whipped cream...1 cup heavy cream, 3T confectioner's sugar, 1T rum and 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Keeping this one to make for New Year's and future holiday parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
great recipe. Too bad the cooking instructions ruined it. NO cheesecake will ever set if cooked as directed. Bake it at 325 for at least 1.25 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This had good flavor, but never set up. I cooked it twice as long as recommended and it still had the texture of custard. I did cook it in a bath of water as recommended by a previous review, so that probably slowed the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
baked in a water bath and kept in an extra 5 min. then just opened the oven door and shut oven off. increased eggnog to almost 1 cup. made a whipped topping with 1/2 cup cream, 1.5 T powdered sugar, .5 t vanilla and .5 t cinnamon. used gold and silver sprinkles to decorate the top with a snowflake. incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have made this cheesecake twice now, just as written except for using 1tsp of rum extract instead of the actual rum. Made the batter in my food processor which did all the work. Comes out perfect, and is always the hit at the holiday party dinner. Also freezes without any problems and tastes just as good when thawed. I plan to make again to have one on hand in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was delicious. I added some cinnamon to the batter...and for the topping we used whipped cream with a sprinkle of cinnamon. Everyone loved it. I may add some rum next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States