Eggnog Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Wonderful cheesecake! Our whole family loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Instead of adding the nutmeg to the recipe I added 1/2 tsp to the crust and then sprinkled pumpkin pie spice into the filling. I also used 1 tablespoon dark rum instead of 2 T rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I make this every Christmas, and it's always a hit. I usually substitute 3 tsp rum extract for the actual rum, if I don't have any on hand. Be sure to do a water bath to avoid a cracked cake, and I find I can usually shorten the cooking time by about 4-5 minutes; this may be due to the water bath or my oven. Just don't overcook! You want the center to be set, but still a little soft. Thanks for this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Just made this cheesecake....made it exactly as it states but with a water bath and cooked it longer. Didn't crack at all while cooking but when I took it out of the oven and released the pan, it got a small crack on the side... I'm hoping for now that's the only one, but it looks like it's setting up nicely. I will update later with more results...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Taste was pretty good...used 1 c. eggnog, about 1/2 cinnamon graham crackers and 1/2 gingersnaps for the crust, added a couple dashes of nutmeg to both the crust and batter. Cheesecake cracked, so I made a topping for it--8 oz. cool whip with a dash of vanilla, 2 tbl spiced rum, and a few dashes of nutmeg...this topping ended up being really sweet, which, unfortunately, made the tanginess of the cheesecake stand out...so I might add a tad more splenda (I didn't use real sugar) next time. Used 2 fat free and 1 reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat egg nog, and the texture was still fabulously creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
What a great recipe! I took some other people's suggestions and added nutmeg and cinnamon to the rust. I also don't have a food processor big enough for the job so I just used room temp cream cheese and put some elbow grease into mixing it. I also baked it in a water bath, I just put foil around the bottom of the spring pan. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! I'll definitely be making another one for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I brought this to my work party and people loved it. Foil coated the pan and I did not cook it in water and the cheesecake came out great. I only cracked when I flipped it because I didn't wait for it to cool longer. I also added ginger and cinnamon to the crust and it gave it a Christmas feel. Also, it's pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Delicious. I made a few changes. I used a different crust recipe: 2 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1 stick melted butter, 1/2 tsp cinnamon...it's more fattening but a much better crust. I skipped the 10 minute crust baking step and instead put the crust in the fridge while I was assembling the rest of the cake. I didn't have rum so I substituted vanilla extract like someone else suggested. Follow the cooking instructions exactly, and DO NOT open the oven during baking, and your cheesecake will be perfect......DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this cheesecake for a christmas party last year, (my first cheesecake I ever made), I couldn't believe how easy it was to make and how wonderful it tasted. Friends are asking me to make it for the party again this year, this time I will be adding cinnamon & nutmeg in the crust. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
After reading all of the reviews I was excited to make this. The only change I made was to double the graham cracker crust as suggested by a review. I baked it in a water bath, let it cool in the oven, refrigerated for over a day...Then was deeply disappointed to cut into it and find it wasn't done. (I bought an instant read thermometer today for the next cheesecake I'll make). It was really soft and almost pudding like in the center although the outside looked fine. The graham cracker crust was too thick..overpowering. I'd recommend the original amount for the crust. The eggnog flavor wasn't very strong..Probably won't make this again:{
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States