Eggnog Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
i made 2 of these cheesecakes and they were wonderful.Everyone asked for the recipe.was rich in texture,and smooth to the taste.was so easy to make,i did cheat,i was so busy for the holidays,i ended up using carmel ice cream topping and it was just as good.i found the recipe topping to be a little thinner than preferred.EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Gave this to my grandfather for Xmas. He froze it, then thawed out a slice for after dinner every day until it was gone and raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
Thanks Ms Johnson for such a fine recipe. I was scouring the internet for a real good recipe and I found it. I made this special cheesecake for me and my parents. It was a smash hit. And I already have an order for another one when I visit a friends house. This is one of those no sweat recipes that anyone can make. Sooo easy and sooo quick. And the rewards are many when your friends and family try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This got rave reviews at the last event I brought it to. However, the rum flavoring was a little strong for my taste, and I would probably tone it down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I always make a basic cheesecake since my family doesn't like change. I threw caution to the wind and made this recipe for a New Year's Eve party. It was a hit - all the men just loved it! Bacardi Select dark rum makes all the difference. The sauce was the reason - since prior reviews indicated the sauce was runny, I cut the water down to 3/4 cup. The secret is to bring the sauce to a boil and continue boiling for 5 more minutes while stirring constantly. Remove from heat and then add the rum. This is how the glaze for Rum Cake is made so I figured that had to be the way to make it thicker and it worked like a charm. I also added a touch of Watkin's vanilla for more flavor. I will note that the texture on this cake is very dense and somewhat crumbly, not like my usual creamy cheesecake. I will now make this every year for New Year's Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was sooo good. This was the first time I ever made a cheesecake and it came out perfect! It was very easy and I plan on making it again this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
It was wonderful and very rich. I thought the pecan caramel sauce was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
We loved this. I changed it a little and made it with a grahm cracker crust because that is what I had on hand, and used caremel ice cream topping too. It was very creamy and smooth. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
It may be easy, but it is way too rich. We couldn't finish it. The Sauce was also very runny. Not one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I had never made a "real" cheesecake before. This recipe was easy and it tasted great. My father-in-law said that it was better than at a restaurant. I did bake it longer than the recipe recommended because the middle took longer to cook. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States