Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wonderfull!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Love this recipe...the only thing I change is I use a bit more spice (I add 1/2 tsp cinnamon, double the nutmeg and a bit more ginger), and substitute the milk for eggnog, so mine is less subtle. The texture is great, the flavour amazing. Excellent as a gift - I bake mine in mini silicone stars for Christmas! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Definitely tastes like eggnog... a little dry, but very good! I made a glaze to go on top (2 cups confectioners suger + a few tbs of milk and 1/4 tsp rum extract) until reached the consistancy to drip over the cake. I think the glaze really made it... otherwise would have been really plain...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Saw that others stated it was dry...I changed butter to 1/2c. ..no longer need shortening and change 3/4c. milk to 1/2c. sour cream and 1/2c. buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superfinechef
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Good flavor, but not a true pound cake texture. My family thought it was to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I substituted eggnog for milk and vanilla for rum flavoring. I also watched times carefully and took it out early. It was still dry and bland and did not taste like eggnog. It was okay dipped in my eggnog chai latte, but not on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Like other reviewers suggested I used egg nog instead of milk and vanilla extract instead of rum. I also carefully watching the baking time and at around 50 minutes the tooth pick came out clean all over the cake so I took it out of the oven. However after the cake cooled it practically crumbled when I cut it, and yet there were still mini lumps of flour mixture inside the cake despite mixing thoroughly. I also didn't think it tasted much like egg nog even though I used it! Sorry, too bland and time consuming for a not-so-great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
After reading other reviewers' comments, I followed some advice and made the following alterations: I substituted eggnog (and I used 1 cup versus 3/4 cup), and vanilla extract. I added a cup of rum-soaked dried berries (blueberry, cherry, cranberry). I baked in a bundt pan rather than a loaf pan, and watched cooking times very carefully. The results were delicious -- this was a hit at the day-after-christmas-breakfast with my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Just tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and it is super. I made it in mini-loaf pans and baked for 40 minutes to give to neighbors. Fantastic butter-rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Good cake to go with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States