Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
But if you add too much eggnog it will de over powering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Used a pumpkin spice cake mix and pumpkin spice egg nog. This was truly lovely for dessert on Christmas. oh and no rum. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
The recipe is way off and ruined the dessert. I made the filling as the recipe stated, and it remained pure liquid, even after following the instructions to a tee and letting it stay in the fridge for 2 hours, not just 30 minutes. It did not solidify at all. At that point I did not even attempt the topping, fearing it would further ruin the cake. I just put on a vanilla frosting. Pretty disappointing after reading all of the glowing reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I make this every year for the holidays. This is the first year that I have been married and made it for my husband and he practically licked his plate clean. The only change I make is to use cool whip with the rum extract and nutmeg. Thanks for this heavenly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Wow! This cake was amazing! My MIL made it for New Years and boy was it a treat! The only thing she did different was she used rum instead of rum extract because that's all she had. It still turned out great! Very moist and rich. A real show stopper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I would make this cake again with some alterations. It was way too sweet. I don't believe 2 cups of eggnog are necessary for the filling. I will use 1/2 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cups of eggnog for the filling the next time. I will also use 3/4 cup of sugar for the frosting rather than 1 1/4 cups of sugar. You can always add more sugar to taste to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kuteketch
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've made this cake three times now! It is so good! I follow the directions exactly as stated. For the eggnog, I use Southern Comfort Vanilla Spice. Yum!!!! I haven't made the frosting. I just use the pudding in between the cake layers ( I make two rounds) and then also put the pudding on top. The pudding recipe is plenty and you will even have a little left over. Love love love this recipe!!! Thanks!! *I will also post my pic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena_Lodahl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beeville, Texas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very festive and wonderful cake! I bake alot and everyone loved this cake! Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I was so disappointed with this recipe. Followed the recipe to a T. The cake was just ok. Tasted like regular boxed mix to me. The filling was not spreadable at all and the icing was beyond sweet. Add super sweet icing on top of a bland cake with thick looking filling and you get something that just isn't eatable. Maybe a kid with a sweet tooth will like this, but it won't be on my table again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States