Eggnog Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I went looking for a recipe to use up my Christmas eggnog, and was very happy I found this one. This recipe is very easy to make, since it starts with a cake mix. In no time at all it's in the oven. Filling and frosting are also easy. The only thing I would recommend is that there is too much batter for 8-inch pans. Next time I will use 9-inch. I highly recommend this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I submitted this recipe, but forgot to tell you that you can put it in a 9 by 13 inch pan, also. Make sure that you use a deep 9 by 13 because there is a lot of filling and toppings. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Wow o wow o wow..... First let me start off if you are an eggnog lover then this is the cake for you! I followed the recipe to the T except I changed the rum extract to 1 teaspoon instead of a half a teaspoon. This cake is extremely rich in flavor and oh so decadent. I made this for my great uncles birthday and everyone raved about it! I was told I must make it again. I am going to be making this for our church Christmas party this weekend. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
THIS WAS SPECTACULAR! I needed to make something festive for a Christmas potluck at work, and a cake seemed pretty easy to transport. I chose eggnog because that flavor isn't my favorite and I didn't want to be tempted to eat a TON of it. I cut a piece to bring a coworker and noticed how moist it looked, and had to try some myself. PEOPLE, this has got to be one of the most delicious and professional tasting cakes ever. It has a strong but delicious and rich eggnog flavor. It was very easy too aside from the weird geletin in water thing which I found to be clumpy but mixed into the whipped cream anyway. I sprinkled mine with some color since it was white white white. If you are a fan of eggnog, do NOT pass this one up! My house still smells delicious days later too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made this into cupcakes and didn't use the filling because I couldn't figure out how to get the filling into the cupcakes easily. I also used pre-made buttercream frosting and added the 1/2 tsp rum flavored extract. The doctored cake mix is pretty good...the only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because my version didn't taste all that eggnog-like...but prolly because I didn't use the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This was okay. The gelatin in the frosting was unneccesary and created little gelatin chucks in the frosting. The rum flavor was a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This cake is moist, but way too sweet! It didn't even need the filling and frosting. There is quite a bit of eggnog flavor. I only ate it to taste the cake, and that was it. I would recommend this to those who enjoy very, very sweet cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great recipe for eggnog lovers. Makes a lot of filling so used it as frosting as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This recipe was really great! I did make some alterations - I used a white cake mix instead of yellow, I didn't have rum extract, I used vanilla instead, I also used oil instead of butter. I baked in a 10x13 pan and didn't use the filling. For the icing, I used 500ml of whipping cream, 1cup of icing sugar, 1/2cup of eggnog & 1 pkg instant vanilla pudding. This cake was super moist & even my husband who doesn't like eggnog loved this cake. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States