Eggnog and Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I brought this dessert to my mother-in-law's for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. They all want the recipe. I did substitute Cool Whip for the Dream Whip called for and used a decorative glass bowl instead of a 9 x 13 pan. I've already had 2 requests to bring this dish at Christmas. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I made this recipe last Christmas and it was a hit! It was requested I make it again this year. I'm going to use 1/3 t. ground nutmeg this time, I felt the nutmeg was a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Yummy, but allow LOTS of prep-time for this one! I had little time - started it about 7pm... then had to rush the setting process. Because my cranberry mix was jelling much faster than the eggnog mix, I put it on the bottom; then, the eggnog mix suddenly started jelling, and I had to quickly add it to the glass bowl I used before it set. The cranberry layer would've set much better on top - as it was, the eggnog mix settled into it, and the cran mix never set properly. The taste was enjoyed by all, but scored low in presentation due to the soupy cran layer. Will definitely make this again next year, but start about 6-8 hours earlier in the day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
The recipe is so easy to follow. The timeline is perfect. I loved this recipe and so did everyone else, and it really does taste like "Thanksgiving". Beauty, eh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Everyone in our family loved this salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I prepared the two layers as directed except I substituted Cool Whip(about 1 &1/2 cups +/-)for the dry topping mix. I assembled them with the red cran/rasberry layer going into my round jello mold first, followed by the lighter eggnog layer, chilled it overnight. To serve, I inverted it onto a serving plate lined with iceberg lettuce leaves. Overall, this tastes great, but does not keep its form well. It colapsed into a heap after a short while (the red layer slid off of the white layer!) Next time for Thanksgiving I will prepare this into individual size parfait type serving dishes to avoid presentation mishaps. Delicious! (Sweet enough for dessert!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I made this for Christmas, it looks nice but I didn't really taste "eggnog". Good concept though I will keep looking for a good standard holiday salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful! The eggnog part didn't really taste like eggnog, just creamy but it was very good. I had no problems making it--make sure you use cooked pudding - not instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States