Eggless Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This very basic recipe is the foundation for a new favourite muffin loaf that my family loves. Like many I altered this to suit our tastes: 1/4 C. brown sugar instead of 3 Tbsp. white, 60 mL water, 3 Tbsp. margarine; turning it into a loaf was more convenient for me as the batter became a moist ball of dough; I also added about a 1/4 C. of walnut pieces and some cinnamon sugar sprinkled between layers of the dough and on top. "Yummy" And, not letting it bake longer than the 25 minutes made a big difference by keeping the centre moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
i ended up having to make these completely different as not only was i out of eggs, but out of sour cream as well. so here is my totally crazy recipe. 2 cups whole wheat flour 1/2 tsp salt 1/2 tsp baking soda 2 tsp baking powder 1 tbsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp nutmeg 1 cup white sugar 1 1/2 cup applesauce 1/2 cup plain yogurt 1 mashed banana 1 tsp vanilla extract 2 tsp honey 1/4 cup milk i whisked together all dry ingredients. in a separate bowl, i blended all the wet ingredients. then i stirred the dry into the wet. stirred in: 1/4 cup raisins 1/4 cup chopped walnuts topped with: toasted wheat germ rolled oats. baked on 350 for 30 min. so i know its a totally different recipe, but its still eggless muffins and they came out incredible. so i figured i'd share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Dry and tasteless. After reading other reviews, I was really expecting a lot : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
These didn't turn out for me, I will try and experiment with the recipe but all in all a bad experience following the recipe as is. They turned out dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I was impressed by these muffins. I didn't have sour cream so I used soy milk instead, and required just a little over one cup to make the batter the correct muffin texture. Very good taste and satisfying. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Well, I didn't quite follow the recipe. I needed to get rid of a cup and a half of sour cream before it went bad, so I used the whole thing. I also didn't have a muffin pan, so I used a round cake pan. I also added a couple tablespoons of water so all the (white, all-purpose) flour would fix in. Then I baked at 400 F for 30 minutes, cut the results into eighths, and baked again for 2 minutes. They ended up tasting kinda like dry, biscuity pancakes. Accordingly, they will be eaten with maple syrup and a little butter. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
It was good - they were gone within a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
We use this recipe as a base for many kinds of muffins - banana, carrot, blueberry, applesause, etc. One of the children in my daycare is allergic to eggs and we love to bake muffins for snack time, so this has become a favourite of ours. I love that it is so healthy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My husband's allergic to eggs, and this recipe has become the foundation of weekly muffin sessions! I add lots of other stuff - cinnamon and whatever fruit I've at hand that would be good in a muffin, but most importantly a heaping spoonful of runny honey mixed in with the sour cream. I've made these muffins for lots of people, and they've all been amazed that they're so moist and tasty without any eggs - plus they stay good for a day or two after baking (that's thanks to the honey). I think I've started an egg-free muffin trend in my part of the country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCBEAR1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States