Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Five stars as revised, based on input from other commenters. My husband--who loves quiche--said this was THE BEST quiche he has ever eaten--hands down! Here's what I did: I used a 16 oz. block of extra-firm tofu, rinsed & drained. 2x the amount of milk to 2/3 c., added extra onion, 1 pkg. sliced mushrooms and a small piece of red bell pepper. I sautéed the mushrooms with the onion and 1-1/2 tsp minced garlic in a tbsp of olive oil. I added garlic powder, a pinch of cayenne, red pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp dry mustard, extra salt and white pepper. Also--sliced sweet potato with mandolin slicer and added that to my olive-oil sprayed pie plate for the crust. I used all of the spinach called for, making sure to squeeze out all of the moisture I could. I baked it for about 45 min. at 350 and let it sit on the counter to cool and set for about 10 minutes. FABULOUS! And the sweet potato crust rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Good but took much longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My boyfriend made this for me so I could enjoy a quiche for the first time in my life since I don't eat eggs. I was very impressed with how it turned out. My only contribution was helping to make the pie crust. He precooked the onion and garlic to make it more palatable for me, and also used fresh instead of frozen spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I made this for a vegan friend's party, using soy milk and some weird tapioca starch cheese in place of the cheddar and swiss, and it still came out good! I did make some changes, and used a 12 oz package of tofu, as I couldn't find an 8 oz package. I also sauteed the onion and some bell pepper in some vegan margarine to develop the flavors. I ended up making mini quiches for the party- I used a biscuit cutter to cut small circles of pie crust and put them in a mini muffin tin; they were done in about 25 minutes. All in all, a pretty good substitute for an egg quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potatokat7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Okay, so...Here's my two cents... :) I used the 14 oz pack of tofu, extra firm. I used the 10 oz pack of frozen spinach and half of another pack. I used soy milk instead of regular milk. I wound up adding a tiny bit more than what the recipe called for. My ninja blender is EVERYTHING!! :) When I blended the soy milk and the tofu, it came out so smooth... Okay, so I used a mixture of different cheeses..Cheddar, Sharp Cheddar, Jack and Muenster. Lucky for me I'm a great cook so I used a bunch of different seasonings to really make this pop..I used a little sea salt, a little adobo (I use that for just about everything lol), pepper, garlic powder, a little cayenne pepper. I added the salt and pepper while I blended the tofu and the soy milk. When I mixed that with the other ingredients (spinach, blah blah blah) , I added the other seasonings. Put in the pie shell. After 45 minutes in the oven I got nervous since it seemed like the quiche was still mushy....However, I left it in the oven for an hour and a half...It came out perfect. The tofu cooked perfectly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I used Sarai's idea of making a crust... but she used yams and I used thin sliced yellow potatoes layered in the bottom of the pie pan that was greased with a bit of olive oil. I used the filling as listed in the recipe... and then just salted the edges of the potatoes that were sticking up with some Kosher salt. My family gobbled it up. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is perfect for those that are allergic to egg and miss eating quiche. My husband who hates tofu loved this too. If you are not a strict vegetarian adding some bacon is a nice touch to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was not good. Way, way, way too much spinach. I increased the tofu to 12oz per other reviews. There was no mistaking the tofu for eggs. Maybe I did something wrong here, but we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This seriously needs seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was very impressed with this recipe. I was making brunch for a friend who does not eat eggs. It is very hard to find brunch food that does not contain eggs! I sauted the onion along with some mushrooms and garlic beforehand, substituted pepper jack for swiss, and baked the crust for 10 minutes first as other reviewers had recommended, but otherwise I followed the recipe and it turned out great. I did not taste the tofu at all! My one concern was that it did not fill up my 9 inch pie plate so next time I would probably add more of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States