Eggless Tofu Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I made this for a vegan friend's party, using soy milk and some weird tapioca starch cheese in place of the cheddar and swiss, and it still came out good! I did make some changes, and used a 12 oz package of tofu, as I couldn't find an 8 oz package. I also sauteed the onion and some bell pepper in some vegan margarine to develop the flavors. I ended up making mini quiches for the party- I used a biscuit cutter to cut small circles of pie crust and put them in a mini muffin tin; they were done in about 25 minutes. All in all, a pretty good substitute for an egg quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potatokat7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Okay, so...Here's my two cents... :) I used the 14 oz pack of tofu, extra firm. I used the 10 oz pack of frozen spinach and half of another pack. I used soy milk instead of regular milk. I wound up adding a tiny bit more than what the recipe called for. My ninja blender is EVERYTHING!! :) When I blended the soy milk and the tofu, it came out so smooth... Okay, so I used a mixture of different cheeses..Cheddar, Sharp Cheddar, Jack and Muenster. Lucky for me I'm a great cook so I used a bunch of different seasonings to really make this pop..I used a little sea salt, a little adobo (I use that for just about everything lol), pepper, garlic powder, a little cayenne pepper. I added the salt and pepper while I blended the tofu and the soy milk. When I mixed that with the other ingredients (spinach, blah blah blah) , I added the other seasonings. Put in the pie shell. After 45 minutes in the oven I got nervous since it seemed like the quiche was still mushy....However, I left it in the oven for an hour and a half...It came out perfect. The tofu cooked perfectly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I used Sarai's idea of making a crust... but she used yams and I used thin sliced yellow potatoes layered in the bottom of the pie pan that was greased with a bit of olive oil. I used the filling as listed in the recipe... and then just salted the edges of the potatoes that were sticking up with some Kosher salt. My family gobbled it up. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is perfect for those that are allergic to egg and miss eating quiche. My husband who hates tofu loved this too. If you are not a strict vegetarian adding some bacon is a nice touch to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was not good. Way, way, way too much spinach. I increased the tofu to 12oz per other reviews. There was no mistaking the tofu for eggs. Maybe I did something wrong here, but we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This seriously needs seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was very impressed with this recipe. I was making brunch for a friend who does not eat eggs. It is very hard to find brunch food that does not contain eggs! I sauted the onion along with some mushrooms and garlic beforehand, substituted pepper jack for swiss, and baked the crust for 10 minutes first as other reviewers had recommended, but otherwise I followed the recipe and it turned out great. I did not taste the tofu at all! My one concern was that it did not fill up my 9 inch pie plate so next time I would probably add more of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was very good! I used soy milk instead of 1%...only thing I changed. I will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was a little salty for me, but great! I'll cut back on the salt next time. You can't tell it's tofu. I made mine with fresh spinach, mushrooms, and fat free cheese, and then poured it into an 8x8 glass baking dish (no crust). DELISH! I did have to cook it a LOT longer than listed but maybe I had too much liquid in it, or maybe it was too thick in the dish. Either way, it still came out fine. I want to make this again in muffin tins for on-the-go breakfast, but not sure if it will cook and set right. Worth a shot though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Yum! Great texture. I followed the recommendations and rinsed and patted the tofu dry. Careful with the salt - the cheese alone would've added enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States