Eggless Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Pretty good. I cut the recipe in half (it was very small, but we had tons of food so it was plenty for six adults- and two children who just tasted it); and added a tiny bit less sugar-part white, part brown. I think I would prefer all brown in these. The result was definitely not too sweet, probably because I didn't use all the topping (in which I used softened butter instead of melted). The orange flavor was there, but I didn't find it very strong...maybe just personal taste-or perhaps my sweet potatoes were extra big. I mashed the potatoes, leaving them with a few lumps because that was the texture we wanted. I didn't want to open a can of evaporated milk so I used heavy cream. They worked nicely for Thanksgiving, but I'm not sure I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Perhaps the best version ive tried. Its like a sweet potato pie-minus crust- combined with the topping of pecan pie. Could almost be a dessert it is so delicious. I didnt have evap milk so i used half & half. Also i did half sweet potatoes and half yams. Love it and will use it every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe is very good. I made it one year for Thanksgiving and every year the family requests I bring it. I love the fact it doesn't have eggs. It lowers the calories and you can't tell the difference from a recipe that calls for eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My family loves this recipe! I have been making this for a few years now and can't believe that I haven't rated it yet. I was just asked again to make this for a friend's dinner. I always use canned sweet potatoes and cut back on the sugar - I use 1 large can and one small can drained. I make it just as the recipe says and it always comes out perfect - the orange juice flavor is a nice surprise. It really is almost like dessert - sooo good!!! I do think the amount of the stated recipe makes more like 10-12 servings, because it is awfully sweet - people usually don't eat a ton of it at a time, but it's so worth it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Perfect as written. I added some frozen spinach just to sneak some super-foods in for my toddler. He couldn't taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Would have given this 5 stars were it not for the needed changes. The taste is definitely worth 5. I left out the orange juice to ensure better potato flavor. Use COLD butter in the topping and use a pastry blender to blend until crumbly. Great recipe, especially for a family constricted by an egg allergy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I think it is delicious!!! It is very easy to make and not a big mess!! Me and my daughter that is ten made it easily!! She even did most of it!! It is easy and great for my Christmas dinner! Now i have more time to make more things for the dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hockeyguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Love it!!! You know how some people ask you to bring a dish to a pot luck. I always tell them I'll bring the sweet potatoes. I get strange looks, or am asked who brings sweet potatoes to pot lucks. Then I show up with this dish! It's always a hit! Even those who would never eat sweet potatoes will come back for seconds. This dish is at every one of my holiday tables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I begrudgingly made sweet potato casserole this year for Christmas dinner because my husband asked for it. I usually don't like it, and I guess it's because I've always had the canned , but this recipe is AMAZING!!! My husband is southern no novice when it comes to sweet potato casserole and he said it was the best he's ever had. Like some of the other user's recommendations, I baked the potatoes first and it made them practically slide out of the skin and brought out so much flavor. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
A standby thanksgiving recipe. Got family to eat sweet potatoes even when some do not usually eat them. Great crust! Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy and coke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States