Eggless Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
These cookies are fabulous! I substituted butter for the shortening and 2% milk for the buttermilk and they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hales Corners, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pinga
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is a great cookie! I've never eaten, let alone made, peanut butter cookies before, but these are brilliant and easy to make. They taste peanut buttery, but light and unusually for eggless cookies there is no baking soda aftertaste! I used margarine instead of shortening, semi-skimmed milk + 1 tsp vinegar [for buttermilk] and only half the salt. I baked at 180C for 11mins in a fan oven and they came out chewy in the middle and crispy at the edges. I also froze half the mix to bake later as it made about 50 cookies. Next time I might try it with crunchy peanut butter. I'm going to add a photo so you can see how they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Good cookies. I couldn't stop eating them. I did find that there was not enough flour in the recipe. Need at least a 1/2 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerson, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I was craving hot, fresh peanut butter cookies, but not having any eggs in the house meant I was about ready to give up on it. Then I found this recipe, and I'm glad I did! Believe it or not, it even scaled down to one cookie very successfully (I have a terrible obsession with eating enormous amounts of cookie dough, so I have to limit myself). I did sub margarine for the shortening, and omitted the salt, as I never have shortening in the house. Crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside, delicious. I may use a bit more peanut butter next time though, for that bit of extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I, too, was out of eggs. My husband requested peanut butter cookies. With a great deal of skeptisism, I made these cookies and to my delight and surprise...THEY ARE WONDERFUL!!! The best peanut butter cookies I've ever had! I made a double batch and will be bringing them to Thanksgiving dinner. My children and husband LOVE them. As do I. Oh...I added chocolate chips and half chunky almond butter half peanut butter. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Like so many others, I was low on eggs. :) But I wanted to bake cookies! I used ½ cup margarine and ½ cup apple sauce in place of the shortening, I used ½ cup white sugar instead of a whole cup, and I used 2% milk instead of buttermilk. I got 5 dozen out of the batch, and they needed 12-13 minutes in the oven. I think the lesser amount of sugar might have affected the texture of the dough (I prefer roll-and-flatten cookies to drop-and-flatten ones), but the cookies, while not quite as beautiful, came out tasting great. Thanks for sharing, L.J.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. BliSs
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I was out of eggs, didn't want to go to the store and REALLY wanted some peanut butter cookies. This recipe was perfect. I used butter instead of shortening and they turned out great. I also cut the recipe down to make about a dozen since I was only baking them for my husband and myself. Thanks for sharing...I'll be using this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
im allergic to eggs too! i luuv cookies, so this was the purfect recipe! also if your low on eggs, or have an egg alergy like me, yougurt is an ahmazing substitute for eggs. ill definetley be making these again. thanks sooo much for putting this up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Found it....the PERFECT cookie! The texture of these= out of this world! I have never had anything like it....SURE to please ANYONE Substituted butter for shortening*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I went back and double checked the recipe to see if I left something out or did something wrong but I can't see any errors. These turned out to be the ugliest cookies I've ever made and looked nothing like the picture. They were VERY flat when done. That being said, they were delicious, and that's all that matters to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillyann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States