Eggless Milkless Butterless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
One of my favorite recipes. I subsituted the allspice for cloves and doubled all of the spices to a teaspoon. I also subsituted the shortening for margarine and the the raisins for walnuts. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I made this so one of our b-day guests could have cake with us. It is a very heavy, dense cake with a great taste. I increased the spices to 1 tsp. each & added an orange glaze as suggested by another reviewer. Everyone was surprised at how yummy this 'everything free' cake tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Kathy, thanks so much for posting this! It reminds me of the HOBO bread recipe my Grandma used to make us when i was little. We are allergic to soy, so I used Spectrum (Palm Oil) for the shortening, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. PERFECT! I'm going to try your other ones next. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Fantastic! I omitted nutmeg and allspice and added instead 1 tsp. of applepie spice. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. I guess you can totally change this recipe to anything that suits you. Its so moist and yummy. Next time I'm adding brown sugar and cinnamon on top. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I used Craisins instead of raisins plus I added about 2 TBS of chopped walnuts that I had left. I omitted allspice as we didn't have any. I added a tablespoon or two of cocoa so that the cake would be a little chocolatey (but not too much!), and I used margarine instead of shortening. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe... And... It was great! It took longer to cook, more like 30 minutes, but it's a nice change! ESPECIALLY with the cocoa. I really enjoyed the spices and cocoa together. My daughter is eating some with ice cream right now. Thanks, Kathy, your recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Very good! Very moist and dense cake. Didn't change anything, except double the cinnamon. Also added an orange glaze( icing sugar and orange juice) to the top once it was out of the oven and cooled a bit. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I made this cake into mini muffins and served them for breakfast. They were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
YUMM! I reduced both the sugar and raisins to 2/3 cup each and used 2 tablespoons of applesauce instead of shortening. I only needed 1 cup of water because more would have made the better too watery. I'm not crazy about nutmeg and I didn't have allspice, so I added cinnamon, ginger and cloves instead. I baked it in a 9x13 pan and I was amazed at how much they tasted like hermits! So now I have a hermit recipe that has virtually no fat. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This cake is absolutely delicious!! I found it while looking for dessert recipes that did not call for milk or eggs, only because I didn't have any in the house. I never knew you could make a cake without these ingredients. I changed it a little because of what I had in the house. I did not have any raisins, and I used ground clove instead of nutmeg and allspice and doubled the cinnamon. I also used butter instead of shortening. This was the most moist and chewy cake I have ever had! My boyfriend never eats cake, he does not like it because he says it is dry; he LOVED this cake!! It tasted like gingerbread! Many of the reviews say how dense it is, so I was nervous and thought it was going to somewhat resemble a moist brick (haha), but I am not sure what they mean, it is a little dense, but also airy like a cake, but soft and CHEWY and OH SO GOOD!! I did have to cook it a little longer than 20mins, but I will definitely be making his again soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
i loved this cake my mom and daughter are both allergic to milk and eggs and its my daughters second birthday and i was able to make her a cake this year that she could eat! I changed a few things...i left out the allspice and put in 1 1/2 tps of cinnamon and instead of raisins i added a cup of apple sauce... it turned out fantastic! Thank you so much stephanie for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States