Eggless Milkless Butterless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
VEGAN!! and VERY easy to make. Dirties only one pot, a spatula, and the baking pan. Didn't even have to use an egg beater or mixer. This must have been a WWII recipe when women were working long shifts and needed cake w/o much time consuming labor or rationed ingredients. What took the longest was waiting for the boiled spiced sugar syrup to cool down, but you can be preparing dinner during the half hour in the fridge it needs. This is the perfect day-before-payday-and-I-need-something-for-dessert-but-the-cupboard-is-bare recipe. Looking to see what I had available, I made it with no raisins, peanut oil instead of shortening, whole wheat pastry flour instead of white, used double-strenth black tea instead of water, and 1/2 teaspoon allspice and 1 teaspoon powdered ginger for the spices. (The tea helps the baking soda work, as it is a bit acid.) As others have said, it is moist, dense and delicious. I have to laugh when I see other reviewers using expensive and/ or non-vegan substitutions like butter, or serving it w/ ice cream. Kind of misses the point. If you can use that stuff pick another, richer cake recipe; it will taste better. However this is quite amazingly good given the limitations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This cake is absolutely delicious!! I found it while looking for dessert recipes that did not call for milk or eggs, only because I didn't have any in the house. I never knew you could make a cake without these ingredients. I changed it a little because of what I had in the house. I did not have any raisins, and I used ground clove instead of nutmeg and allspice and doubled the cinnamon. I also used butter instead of shortening. This was the most moist and chewy cake I have ever had! My boyfriend never eats cake, he does not like it because he says it is dry; he LOVED this cake!! It tasted like gingerbread! Many of the reviews say how dense it is, so I was nervous and thought it was going to somewhat resemble a moist brick (haha), but I am not sure what they mean, it is a little dense, but also airy like a cake, but soft and CHEWY and OH SO GOOD!! I did have to cook it a little longer than 20mins, but I will definitely be making his again soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Easton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I give this a middle of the road rating because my family was split on the cake. The kids loved it! Plain and simple, they could've ate the whole cake themselves. As for my husband and I, we found it to be much too heavy for our liking. I also had to add 10 extra minutes of baking just to get the center cooked completely. The taste was fine but the texture was very poor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Very good! Very moist and dense cake. Didn't change anything, except double the cinnamon. Also added an orange glaze( icing sugar and orange juice) to the top once it was out of the oven and cooled a bit. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I had been pretty busy this week and hadn't had a chance to go to the store for milk or eggs, but wanted something to eat for breakfast. I found this recipe and decided to make it as a coffee cake type breakfast. I don't like rasins so I didn't add them. I would have loved to have added nuts, but didn't have any(I need to go shopping!). I did add a little bit of rum axtract to the boiled mixture and then sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on top before baking. Other than that I followed the recipe. The cake was heavy, but it wasn't dry. The taste was great and it filled me up for sure with my cup of coffee! I will make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I made this so one of our b-day guests could have cake with us. It is a very heavy, dense cake with a great taste. I increased the spices to 1 tsp. each & added an orange glaze as suggested by another reviewer. Everyone was surprised at how yummy this 'everything free' cake tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I used Craisins instead of raisins plus I added about 2 TBS of chopped walnuts that I had left. I omitted allspice as we didn't have any. I added a tablespoon or two of cocoa so that the cake would be a little chocolatey (but not too much!), and I used margarine instead of shortening. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe... And... It was great! It took longer to cook, more like 30 minutes, but it's a nice change! ESPECIALLY with the cocoa. I really enjoyed the spices and cocoa together. My daughter is eating some with ice cream right now. Thanks, Kathy, your recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
absolutely delicious! i combined it w/another recipe i found (changed white sugar to brown, added 3 TBSP shortening, doubled the cinnamon, added 1/2 TSP ground cloves, only used 1 C water and used 2 1/4 C cake flour) and cooked it into 11 cupcakes, which cooked for 25 minutes. but in the end, i have scrumptious little spice muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This cake was awesome!!! I was at the bottom of the bucket on food supplies(need to hit the market) but wanted something fast, easy and that I could make with practically nothing. I did use a little different of a recipe because I wanted to get rid of some things. I used a can of coconut milk(instead of water) a tsp of nutmeg and cinn as I had no allspice, 3 tsp of cocoa powder, half white/half wheat flour and half white/half brown sugar. It turned out awesome and I will absolutely make it again. I served it with some baked sliced apples that I cooked in sugar, cinnamon and butter def went very well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Fantastic! I omitted nutmeg and allspice and added instead 1 tsp. of applepie spice. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. I guess you can totally change this recipe to anything that suits you. Its so moist and yummy. Next time I'm adding brown sugar and cinnamon on top. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States