Eggless Milkless Butterless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Everybody in my family just loves this cake. Whenever i make it, it gets over in just a day !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
absolutely delicious! i combined it w/another recipe i found (changed white sugar to brown, added 3 TBSP shortening, doubled the cinnamon, added 1/2 TSP ground cloves, only used 1 C water and used 2 1/4 C cake flour) and cooked it into 11 cupcakes, which cooked for 25 minutes. but in the end, i have scrumptious little spice muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I can't believe this actually tasted really good, my spices were stale so I tripled the spices. My husband is very picky and he actually said it wasn't bad.!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I give this a middle of the road rating because my family was split on the cake. The kids loved it! Plain and simple, they could've ate the whole cake themselves. As for my husband and I, we found it to be much too heavy for our liking. I also had to add 10 extra minutes of baking just to get the center cooked completely. The taste was fine but the texture was very poor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
One of my favorite recipes. I subsituted the allspice for cloves and doubled all of the spices to a teaspoon. I also subsituted the shortening for margarine and the the raisins for walnuts. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I used Craisins instead of raisins plus I added about 2 TBS of chopped walnuts that I had left. I omitted allspice as we didn't have any. I added a tablespoon or two of cocoa so that the cake would be a little chocolatey (but not too much!), and I used margarine instead of shortening. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe... And... It was great! It took longer to cook, more like 30 minutes, but it's a nice change! ESPECIALLY with the cocoa. I really enjoyed the spices and cocoa together. My daughter is eating some with ice cream right now. Thanks, Kathy, your recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Very good! Very moist and dense cake. Didn't change anything, except double the cinnamon. Also added an orange glaze( icing sugar and orange juice) to the top once it was out of the oven and cooled a bit. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Fantastic! I omitted nutmeg and allspice and added instead 1 tsp. of applepie spice. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. I guess you can totally change this recipe to anything that suits you. Its so moist and yummy. Next time I'm adding brown sugar and cinnamon on top. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I made this so one of our b-day guests could have cake with us. It is a very heavy, dense cake with a great taste. I increased the spices to 1 tsp. each & added an orange glaze as suggested by another reviewer. Everyone was surprised at how yummy this 'everything free' cake tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I made this cake into mini muffins and served them for breakfast. They were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States