Eggless Milkless Butterless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Delicious. Made this for my husband's grandma who is on a super restrictive diet because she has kidney failure. I left out the raisins and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Outrageous! I was looking for a cake without milk butter and eggs because my cupboards were bare and luckily had the ingredients listed in this recipe. I was pleasantly surprised to find this cake is almost exactly a cake recipe I have been searching for for years. If anyone remembers the old A&P grocery stores and their Ann Page brand of baked goods this recipe is as close to Spanish Bar Cake as you will find. Now all I have to do is find a recipe that resembles the frosting. I did have to bake this a little longer than suggested and had to remove it from the oven before the center was 100% done but I didn't mind the tiny bit of the center that was still a little bit gooey since the recipes did not include eggs. Although I have eggs, milk and butter in the house now, I will be making it again today to freeze and give as gifts for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
VEGAN!! and VERY easy to make. Dirties only one pot, a spatula, and the baking pan. Didn't even have to use an egg beater or mixer. This must have been a WWII recipe when women were working long shifts and needed cake w/o much time consuming labor or rationed ingredients. What took the longest was waiting for the boiled spiced sugar syrup to cool down, but you can be preparing dinner during the half hour in the fridge it needs. This is the perfect day-before-payday-and-I-need-something-for-dessert-but-the-cupboard-is-bare recipe. Looking to see what I had available, I made it with no raisins, peanut oil instead of shortening, whole wheat pastry flour instead of white, used double-strenth black tea instead of water, and 1/2 teaspoon allspice and 1 teaspoon powdered ginger for the spices. (The tea helps the baking soda work, as it is a bit acid.) As others have said, it is moist, dense and delicious. I have to laugh when I see other reviewers using expensive and/ or non-vegan substitutions like butter, or serving it w/ ice cream. Kind of misses the point. If you can use that stuff pick another, richer cake recipe; it will taste better. However this is quite amazingly good given the limitations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I halved the recipe leaving out the raisins (-as I didn't have any) and made it into muffins. They came out well. They were moist inside and had a proper muffin ie. crispy top. As to spices I used 1/4t of cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg as they were what I had. I used coffee instead of plain water but this didn't seem to make any difference in taste. I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This cake was awesome!!! I was at the bottom of the bucket on food supplies(need to hit the market) but wanted something fast, easy and that I could make with practically nothing. I did use a little different of a recipe because I wanted to get rid of some things. I used a can of coconut milk(instead of water) a tsp of nutmeg and cinn as I had no allspice, 3 tsp of cocoa powder, half white/half wheat flour and half white/half brown sugar. It turned out awesome and I will absolutely make it again. I served it with some baked sliced apples that I cooked in sugar, cinnamon and butter def went very well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
It was 50/50 here. Two of my kids didn't care for it, but my youngest & I liked it. Definitely put brown sugar on the top. It makes it more like a coffee cake that way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer McGroarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Delicious and relatively easy. My kids and husband LOVE this cake, especially with cream cheese frosting. It's wonderful to have on hand when the budget is tight. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellieSterling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Love this cake. I made a carmel sauce to pour over individual pieces which made it extra good. The carmel sauce is 1 cup brown sugar; 1 stick oleo; 1/4 cup milk & 1 tsp vanilla. Boil for 2-1/2 mins and pour over cake. I also sprinkeled chopped nuts on top of cake before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
i loved this cake my mom and daughter are both allergic to milk and eggs and its my daughters second birthday and i was able to make her a cake this year that she could eat! I changed a few things...i left out the allspice and put in 1 1/2 tps of cinnamon and instead of raisins i added a cup of apple sauce... it turned out fantastic! Thank you so much stephanie for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This cake is absolutely delicious!! I found it while looking for dessert recipes that did not call for milk or eggs, only because I didn't have any in the house. I never knew you could make a cake without these ingredients. I changed it a little because of what I had in the house. I did not have any raisins, and I used ground clove instead of nutmeg and allspice and doubled the cinnamon. I also used butter instead of shortening. This was the most moist and chewy cake I have ever had! My boyfriend never eats cake, he does not like it because he says it is dry; he LOVED this cake!! It tasted like gingerbread! Many of the reviews say how dense it is, so I was nervous and thought it was going to somewhat resemble a moist brick (haha), but I am not sure what they mean, it is a little dense, but also airy like a cake, but soft and CHEWY and OH SO GOOD!! I did have to cook it a little longer than 20mins, but I will definitely be making his again soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Easton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States