Eggless Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've never been good at seperating eggs, so I decided to give this a try. I found the consistancy is a bit too watery. I tried leaving it overnight in the hopes it might thicken up, but it just became a bit lumpy. I also found the taste rather bland. More a vaguely sweet milkiness than anything else. I left out the rum flavoring, so it might taste better if you like the taste of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. I added sugar to satisfy my sweet tooth and liked it better. The french vanilla pudding makes it a true egg nog color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this with actual rum instead of the rum-flavored extract--it was pretty good. I used 1/2 cup of Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum. With the other ingredients, it tasted a little bland, so I added some extra nutmeg and also about 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract. With the extra spices, it tasted more like eggnog, in my opinion. Maybe my problem was not using the extract, but, no matter--with the real rum & extra spices, it was delicious. I put this in an empty milk jug, which worked out well for storing and pouring at a Christmas gathering. Not glamorous, but incredibly functional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I love store bought eggnog. I tried homemade eggnog and feel it's too egg-y. Came across a similar recipe, like this on Pinterest. I used white chocolate pudding mix, with 4 cups 1/2% milk and 2 cups 2%. Didn't use rum extract. Added 1/3 cup sugar and a few sprinkles of nutmeg and cinnamon. Came out good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This is delicious!!! It tastes like regular eggnog. The recipe calls for 6 cups milk total per 3.5 oz pudding packet, but I used just 4 cups, and that seemed like the right consistency to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Used this recipe with my family a few holiday seasons ago, when we realized we didn't buy any egg nog. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Wonderful, i used skim milk and found it a little thin the first day i made it, but it nicely thickns the next day. I am SUPER happy i fould this recipe as my husband is diabetic and egg nog is FULL of sugar! therefore i used sugar free instant vanilla pudding...thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just as Sweet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is fantastic--I no longer am freaked out by the raw egg thing and my family LOVES this recipe--it's cheaper and homeade! LOVE THIS RECIPIE--I do add Pumpkin Pie Spice in place of nutmeg! A keeper for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I rate this 5 stars for its great substitution for real eggnog. Taste is very close to real eggnog but with a much better price tag. Although, I still prefer to eat real eggnog. I did not add rum flavoring but added vanilla in its place. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My gram had a recipe similar to this. YUM! I have kids and don't like to use raw egg, but they love eggnog (non alcoholic of course) so this recipe is perfect. If you don't like rum flavor, try Almond extract instead. It's delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Iced Coffee

See how to make a quick chocolate coffee milkshake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States