Eggless Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Wonderful - and so easy! Now I can whip up some "egg" nog whenever the urge strikes since I often have these ingredients on hand (I actually substituted soy milk and used sugar-free/fat-free instant vanilla pudding).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
As an option for egg-phobic or teetotallers, I recommend this for parties that you don't plan letting get out of hand due to your eggnog! Making a gallon was going to be impossible with even a doubling of the recipie, but I added to the double recipie 1 pint of heavy cream, 1/4 tsp. of vanilla extract, and a dash of cinnamon-sugar. There was enough room in the gallon jug to shake instead of stirring before serving, but enough for everyone at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
WAY WAY too much rum flavoring is called for in this 'nog recipe! I only used half of the amount called for and still the intensity of the "fake" rum taste and smell was nauseating. We have made homemade eggnog before and the thought of a virtually fat free version was enticing. (Skim milk and fat free/sugar free pudding were used) I was about to throw this all away but decided to let it sit in the refrigerator overnight and try it again in the morning. The smell was still unappealling but the flavors blended and it didn't taste as bad as the night before. It still wasn't "good" but it is worth trying again with A LOT less rum flavoring (maybe 1/4 teaspoon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My daughter is allergic to eggs, so when I found this recipe I was thrilled! It tastes just like the real thing, but doesn't leave that thick egg taste in your throat! This year was the second year I've made it, this time for my extended family. It was so simple and easy to change the recipe amounts to fit my group size - so I didn't have to guess at the amounts. Everyone enjoyed it; commenting a number of times "Are you sure this doesn't have eggs?" Delicious! Thanks a bunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe is awesome!!! I am a diabetic and like heaping glasses of orange juice of years past, I thought eggnog was too a thing of the past. BUT NOT ANYMORE! Here are my changes: I used sugar-free french vanilla pudding mix, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and a whopping 4 tsp imitation rum extract! I added 3 envelopes of equal to a 8 oz. cup and voila! AMAZING! No more small sips here and there of eggnog for me. And hey, my sister is my toughest critic and a HUGE eggnog lover, from way back. And she said it tasted no different! I think the rum extract really makes this drink. Do yourself a favor and try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I love this eggnog, i never add the rum, i just dont like the flavor but i do add some cinnamon. I usualy eye ball it when adding the milk, cause i like it thick but not too thick. I use fat free milk and it still turns out quite creamy. Thanks for the great idea its a winner at my christmas party every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I love this recipe! I have been using at our Thanksgiving and Christmas parties for 2 years. I always get rave reviews for the eggnog. It's such a cheap and yummy alternative to store bought! I usually mix half milk, half half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I thought this was very good! I actually only used a total of 3-3/4 cups of milk (I used fat free super skim). I used 2 cups to mix with the pudding mix and then only had to add 1-3/4 cups more to get it to the desired thickness. I started out only using 1 tsp. rum extract, but ended up adding more for a more 'authentic ' flavor and also used more nutmeg than called for (to taste). While this would never replace 'real ' eggnog, this was a great substitute that I would make again! Thanks for sharing. :) UPDATE: After letting it set in the fridge, it did get quite a bit thicker and I ended up having to add more milk to thin it out, so I would say that I did end up using close to the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This egg free eggnog recipe is AMAZING!!! My son is severely allergic to eggs, and I am uncomfortable having regular eggnog in the house. I tried this recipe on New Years Eve at a family party. 6 people tried this eggnog and they all LOVED it! It tastes just like the real thing! Thank you, thank you!! I now have a safe solution and it's very cost effective, too! I tried it two ways, and both were equally delish: I made it with fat-free vanilla pudding mix and used skim milk, and it was wonderful, and still had some of the thickness you'd expect from an eggnog, but not too thick. I also tried it with 2% milk and regular pudding mix and it was just as good. I will be using the fat-free method! Guilt-free eggnog! I also did not use the run extract. I added an ounce of white rum to my glass, and that's what the others did as well. It was wonderful, and if you didn't say anything, nobody would EVER know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I came up with a recipe similar to this, before I ever found this recipe here, with s/f vanilla pudding, fat free milk, but then I add extra sugar so it still is plenty sweet but you don't get quite as many calories. I found out if you make it the day before it gets a little thinner but nice and creamy. I like a lot of rum flavoring too. Then I add Benchmark Bourbon. Great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ushyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Iced Coffee

See how to make a quick chocolate coffee milkshake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States