Eggless Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Wonderful - and so easy! Now I can whip up some "egg" nog whenever the urge strikes since I often have these ingredients on hand (I actually substituted soy milk and used sugar-free/fat-free instant vanilla pudding).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
WAY WAY too much rum flavoring is called for in this 'nog recipe! I only used half of the amount called for and still the intensity of the "fake" rum taste and smell was nauseating. We have made homemade eggnog before and the thought of a virtually fat free version was enticing. (Skim milk and fat free/sugar free pudding were used) I was about to throw this all away but decided to let it sit in the refrigerator overnight and try it again in the morning. The smell was still unappealling but the flavors blended and it didn't taste as bad as the night before. It still wasn't "good" but it is worth trying again with A LOT less rum flavoring (maybe 1/4 teaspoon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
As an option for egg-phobic or teetotallers, I recommend this for parties that you don't plan letting get out of hand due to your eggnog! Making a gallon was going to be impossible with even a doubling of the recipie, but I added to the double recipie 1 pint of heavy cream, 1/4 tsp. of vanilla extract, and a dash of cinnamon-sugar. There was enough room in the gallon jug to shake instead of stirring before serving, but enough for everyone at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe is pretty good when it's first made. I didn't add the rum flavoring, as it was for my children and I didn't feel it was necessary. Next time (yes, there might be a next time) I'll use cream in place of some of the milk. It's a little thin for eggnog, but the taste is definately there. The next day is was fairly thick and the good taste was pretty much gone. I was actually really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I love this eggnog, i never add the rum, i just dont like the flavor but i do add some cinnamon. I usualy eye ball it when adding the milk, cause i like it thick but not too thick. I use fat free milk and it still turns out quite creamy. Thanks for the great idea its a winner at my christmas party every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My daughter is allergic to eggs, so when I found this recipe I was thrilled! It tastes just like the real thing, but doesn't leave that thick egg taste in your throat! This year was the second year I've made it, this time for my extended family. It was so simple and easy to change the recipe amounts to fit my group size - so I didn't have to guess at the amounts. Everyone enjoyed it; commenting a number of times "Are you sure this doesn't have eggs?" Delicious! Thanks a bunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe is awesome!!! I am a diabetic and like heaping glasses of orange juice of years past, I thought eggnog was too a thing of the past. BUT NOT ANYMORE! Here are my changes: I used sugar-free french vanilla pudding mix, 1/2 tsp cloves, 1 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and a whopping 4 tsp imitation rum extract! I added 3 envelopes of equal to a 8 oz. cup and voila! AMAZING! No more small sips here and there of eggnog for me. And hey, my sister is my toughest critic and a HUGE eggnog lover, from way back. And she said it tasted no different! I think the rum extract really makes this drink. Do yourself a favor and try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This works really slick with the new sugar-free instant pudding that comes in the single serving pouch. But I think the rum extract is too much. And I added a touch of cinnamon. This is best when used right away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
We have kids that are allergic to eggs and my husband loves nog at the holidays. They all love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I love this recipe! I have been using at our Thanksgiving and Christmas parties for 2 years. I always get rave reviews for the eggnog. It's such a cheap and yummy alternative to store bought! I usually mix half milk, half half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Iced Coffee

See how to make a quick chocolate coffee milkshake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States