Eggless Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I rate this 5 stars for its great substitution for real eggnog. Taste is very close to real eggnog but with a much better price tag. Although, I still prefer to eat real eggnog. I did not add rum flavoring but added vanilla in its place. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My gram had a recipe similar to this. YUM! I have kids and don't like to use raw egg, but they love eggnog (non alcoholic of course) so this recipe is perfect. If you don't like rum flavor, try Almond extract instead. It's delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Villazon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made this during the holiday season and my entire family LOVED it! Everyone that tasted it had nothing but good things to say. We left out the rum extract just because we had kids that wanted to try it as well. They enjoyed it and everyone wanted the recipe. So good and easy too. My husband can now have his eggnog whenever he likes. He's a happy man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This egg free eggnog recipe is AMAZING!!! My son is severely allergic to eggs, and I am uncomfortable having regular eggnog in the house. I tried this recipe on New Years Eve at a family party. 6 people tried this eggnog and they all LOVED it! It tastes just like the real thing! Thank you, thank you!! I now have a safe solution and it's very cost effective, too! I tried it two ways, and both were equally delish: I made it with fat-free vanilla pudding mix and used skim milk, and it was wonderful, and still had some of the thickness you'd expect from an eggnog, but not too thick. I also tried it with 2% milk and regular pudding mix and it was just as good. I will be using the fat-free method! Guilt-free eggnog! I also did not use the run extract. I added an ounce of white rum to my glass, and that's what the others did as well. It was wonderful, and if you didn't say anything, nobody would EVER know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I thought this was very good! I actually only used a total of 3-3/4 cups of milk (I used fat free super skim). I used 2 cups to mix with the pudding mix and then only had to add 1-3/4 cups more to get it to the desired thickness. I started out only using 1 tsp. rum extract, but ended up adding more for a more 'authentic ' flavor and also used more nutmeg than called for (to taste). While this would never replace 'real ' eggnog, this was a great substitute that I would make again! Thanks for sharing. :) UPDATE: After letting it set in the fridge, it did get quite a bit thicker and I ended up having to add more milk to thin it out, so I would say that I did end up using close to the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My husband and I loved this egg nog. I used just what I had on hand for milk, so it was 3 cups of skim and 1 1/2 cups of low fat buttermilk, but it came out nicely. I wish the original recipe had included the alcohol, though. I went ahead and tried 3/4 cup of rum and 1/4 cup of bourbon whiskey because I thought that was how much liquor the other recipes call for, but it was so strong next time I will use less rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
this is a great recipe, I used 2 less cups of milk them recipe required, and adde a little more nutmeg, at first I I didn't think it was going to turn out very good,but after a night in the fridge it tasted just like store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Lurve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I came up with a recipe similar to this, before I ever found this recipe here, with s/f vanilla pudding, fat free milk, but then I add extra sugar so it still is plenty sweet but you don't get quite as many calories. I found out if you make it the day before it gets a little thinner but nice and creamy. I like a lot of rum flavoring too. Then I add Benchmark Bourbon. Great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ushyna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I love this recipe! I have been using at our Thanksgiving and Christmas parties for 2 years. I always get rave reviews for the eggnog. It's such a cheap and yummy alternative to store bought! I usually mix half milk, half half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Iced Coffee

See how to make a quick chocolate coffee milkshake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States