Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was really easy! After mixing in the usual egg salad stuff (mayo, salt and pepper), I decided to add some yellow mustard to the mix (maybe about a tablespoonful), and it "completed the illusion" of egg salad, because it looked like the egg yolks got mashed a bit too much as I mixed ;) Thanks for sharing this! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
If you closed your eyes while eating it you'd think it was real egg salad. I cut the tofu into small tiny cubes instead of mashing it. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. I use it as a starter for "eggless salad" and add some nayonaise and spices to the flavor I like. The best thing about this recipe for me is that it is perfect to use on tofu that is at its "use by date". I cook it up quickly, then make the salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This was soo awesome! I was really skeptical because I have yet to find a way to make tofu yummy to me, I used some Nasoya Nayonaise to mix the egg salad and it's the first time I've liked the tofu or the Nayonaise. I used expired tofu and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
It is amazing how close this is to real egg salad. My husband (who is not vegan) really loved this! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
I love eggless egg salad -- it's so easy and versatile, and you can spice it up however you like! Give it a whirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
I loved this recipie, it was so easy and quick. It was perfect to take on day trips. We home school our children so we go on alot of day trips. It was good to be able to take this along. What a healthy choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This should not be posted as an eggless egg salad "recipe"--it is merely a starter for eggless egg salad. You absolutely have to add additional ingredients (Nayonaise, parsley, etc.) for it to taste anything like egg salad. But when you do, it tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I wasn't sure how I was going to rate this but decided to go with 3 stars because it is a good base but needs so much more. I cubed the tofu and tossed it with soy sauce, cooking sherry, red wine vinegar, balsamic glaze and salt/pepper. I didn't measure any of these. I then brought water to a boil and added the marinated tofu and cooked for 15 minutes. While it was cooking I coarsely chopped celery, onion and water chestnut. Once the tofu was cooked, I drained it and added it to the vegetables. I used mayo (because I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out) and added more salt to taste. This turned out delicious. I am allergic to eggs but love egg salad. This is the perfect substitue. A couple of changes I may make next time: I love spicy so I may add either horseradish or jalepeno. I will substitue half the mayo with greek yogurt. And I will let the tofu marinate longer. I would also cut the tofu a bit smaller so that it resembles chopped egg more. So the recipe as is will bore you. But it is a great starting point and can please any taste with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci bakopoulos
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I'm sorry but it is vingear tofu not Eggless Egg Salad. Since the tofu takes the flavor from the ingredients NOT from itself which is extremely bland almost flavorless esp for Western tastebuds, this is pure vinegar. Which is ok if you like to drink vinegar. It needs more than just the vinegar to make it "egg salad"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States