Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was really easy! After mixing in the usual egg salad stuff (mayo, salt and pepper), I decided to add some yellow mustard to the mix (maybe about a tablespoonful), and it "completed the illusion" of egg salad, because it looked like the egg yolks got mashed a bit too much as I mixed ;) Thanks for sharing this! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This needs something else.....I like to add Turmeric to give the "egg" salad a yellow color, just like the real thing. Also, I chop up celery and onions and pickles to throw in and make it more authentic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeagleMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I wasn't sure how I was going to rate this but decided to go with 3 stars because it is a good base but needs so much more. I cubed the tofu and tossed it with soy sauce, cooking sherry, red wine vinegar, balsamic glaze and salt/pepper. I didn't measure any of these. I then brought water to a boil and added the marinated tofu and cooked for 15 minutes. While it was cooking I coarsely chopped celery, onion and water chestnut. Once the tofu was cooked, I drained it and added it to the vegetables. I used mayo (because I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out) and added more salt to taste. This turned out delicious. I am allergic to eggs but love egg salad. This is the perfect substitue. A couple of changes I may make next time: I love spicy so I may add either horseradish or jalepeno. I will substitue half the mayo with greek yogurt. And I will let the tofu marinate longer. I would also cut the tofu a bit smaller so that it resembles chopped egg more. So the recipe as is will bore you. But it is a great starting point and can please any taste with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci bakopoulos
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I don't think this would fool anyone. I even added extra spices, celery and onion to my regular recipe but it did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This should not be posted as an eggless egg salad "recipe"--it is merely a starter for eggless egg salad. You absolutely have to add additional ingredients (Nayonaise, parsley, etc.) for it to taste anything like egg salad. But when you do, it tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I love this recipe. I use it as a starter for "eggless salad" and add some nayonaise and spices to the flavor I like. The best thing about this recipe for me is that it is perfect to use on tofu that is at its "use by date". I cook it up quickly, then make the salad the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I'm sorry but it is vingear tofu not Eggless Egg Salad. Since the tofu takes the flavor from the ingredients NOT from itself which is extremely bland almost flavorless esp for Western tastebuds, this is pure vinegar. Which is ok if you like to drink vinegar. It needs more than just the vinegar to make it "egg salad"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Was looking for a healthy alternative to egg salad, which is a favorite. Did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I think I'll try the one posted by the Sara Lee company....that one looked like it had more than just tofu, water, vinegar and salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
It is amazing how close this is to real egg salad. My husband (who is not vegan) really loved this! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States