Eggless Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! We used cornstarch as our egg substitute (what we had on hand). my 9-yr-old daughter made it & it was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Klimek Newman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Two thumbs way up! Being allergic to dairy, I'm limited in what pastries I can have since many seem to contain milk or sour cream, etc. But this vegan coffee cake is fabulous! I'm not much of a baker, so if I can successfully pull this off, anyone should be able to. LOL The dry egg replacer ingredient confused me, so what I did was use 2 T ground flax seed & 6 T water (the equivalent of 2 eggs), which worked out just fine. A previous reviewer mentioned adding cinnamon to the batter to enhance that flavor throughout the cake, so I'll try that next time. I think this recipe would be fabulous for both vegans & non-vegans. I look forward to trying it with different fruit toppings as well, but the blueberries were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made this one night, during a move, trying to use up leftover flour, fruits, etc. I didn't have egg replacer at all, so I used 3 tablespoons of cornstarch instead. I also added more water to compensate. I used brown sugar. I didn't use walnuts, because I had none and I used plums because that's what had to go! The result was delicious! Thank you! This is definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I used regular sour cream and margarine and it was great. I also added a little bit of milk to the batter since mine was a little dry along with some cinnamon to have the entire cake having a cinnamon flavor. I also added brown sugar to the topping since my mixture never resembled the "cornmeal" texture explained. My kids gobbled it up - especially my son with an egg allergy. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Excellent! You can't tell the difference between a 'real' coffee cake and this eggless one. My son (allergic to eggs) was in heaven. I only had an 8x8 pan and baked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My husband loved this. It took a bit longer to bake than the recipe stated (10 minutes longer is usual in my oven, but this took almost 20) because the middle of the cake was not set. It puffed up very nicely around the blueberries on top. I used frozen blueberries because that is what I had on hand. I tossed them in a little flour to keep the juices from discoloring the cake. They worked beautifully. One problem I had was that I couldn't get the topping to form a crumb-like consistency. I think I probably should have added flour to the mixture, but I topped the cake before I thought of it. It was still delicious, but not quite what I had in mind. The texture and flavor of the cake was very good, and because it used no dairy (or very little, because the sour cream substitute did have whey as an ingredient -- I used IMO brand) and no eggs, my husband can enjoy it without any unpleasant repercussions. He gave it 5 stars, I gave it 4 because of the slight difficulties I listed above and because the recipe requires sifting ingredients twice (first the flour, then the flour again with the other dry ingredients). I hate sifting so I sifted the flour with the other ingredients once and it still came out plenty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
An absolute keeper! Delicious, moist and so easy to make! My 15 year old son loved it. Don't pass this recipe up! Give it a try...you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Wow. Wow. I made this for my boyfriend, who's practically vegan, as my first excursion into egg and sour cream replacers. Other than a necessary substitution of raspberries for blueberries, I followed the recipe to a T. Fluffy, scrumptious, and definitely the best cake I've eaten in a long time. My boyfriend horded all of it--I couldn't even give a piece to my neighbors! NOT what you'd expect at all from the lackluster title. Chris, post more of those eggless recipes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
What a delicious coffee cake! I made it for Easter brunch and it was very well received by both Vegans and Non-Vegans alike. I'm allergic to wheat so I replaced the wheat flour with a white spelt flour, which worked great. My thanks to Chris for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States