Eggless Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I've tried this recipe more than 100 times.its the best chocolate cake I've tasted.so moist so tasty.... I only feel the cupcakes turn out better than a whole cake as my cake sticks to the side.. I'm yet to find a better eggless recipe.( and ive tried a lot of eggless recipes)Ginger u rock.if u ve similar recipes for vegetarians please share.I'm a big fan of yours...:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipe was a life saver! The other night I really wanted chocolate cake, but it was 11:00pm and we didn't have eggs. Thank god I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is a great recipe. I make it for our Preschool where there are a few kids with allergies. My suggestion is to cut the cocoa to 1/2 cup & add a box of chocolate pudding. Turned out very moist. Once, I had to use gluten free flour for one child, I added a little orange juice to kick in some flavor. It does make a lot of cupcakes, so if it's just for home use I suggest halving it, I still got 24 regular cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I tried this recipe. The only ingredient I skipped is the vanilla extract. The cake turned out moist but the cake smells of soda and tastes bitter. I am not sure what went wrong. I used TJ's baking soda and I used a glass container to bake the cake. I have done eggless cakes before and had good results. Since most of you had good results, I am assume I did something wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for my son's birthday party. It's a great recipe! I only made changes because I couldn't resist, but here's what they were: added a box of instant chocolate pudding, added 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder, substituted chocolate soy milk for the water, substituted canola oil (only because I didn't have vegetable oil). The batter was poured into a 9x13 glass dish, and took almost 1.5 hours to cook on 350 degrees, with my oven on the convection heating setting. Next time, I may leave the baking powder out and add 1/2 cup of sour cream to make it more moist. I will also investigate adding a heating core (Google Wilton heating core), as I felt it took way to long to cook through the center. My version ended up tasting a little like a brownie. With icing, I felt it was great and the guests at the party did not know the difference. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saloni
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Simple to make, results are really good, I didn't plan on frosting it, so, the sugar in the recipe was less, will adjust accordingly next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
My daughter has a bad allergy to eggs, so for her 2nd birthday party, I had to baker her her own batch of cupcakes. I added chocolate chips to the recipe as people suggested and these came out great! Others ate some just to taste the difference and they liked these just as much as the others. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was good! I doing a little party for my daughter's birthday and have a kids that have food allergies. I wanted to make just one batch of cupcakes. This fit the bill! I think the key is using good quality cocoa powder. I halved the recipe and made cupcakes. Very moist and held together pretty well. I added a little peppermint extract for fun and they taste a little like a peppermint paddy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
i too cut the recipe in half and added 1/2 tsp baking powder as suggested by another viewer as well as 1/2 sour cream and it turned out wonderfully..not too sweet, rised beautifully and is scrumptious..made choc sour cream frosting substituting unsweetened cocoa rather than semi sweet choc chips in the frosting. it's a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was ok.. that is all I can say. I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States