Eggless Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
For a 3 yr old with an egg allergy, these were great. i made them for a July 4th celebration so my niece would have a sweet treat and she loved them. I made cupcakes instead of sheet cake. It made a lot of cupcakes. For me, its hard to get used the eggless taste. I'm so used to baked goods with eggs. Although my hubby calls eggless cakes "the lets go green cake", he ate and enjoyed one or two. I added a cup of sugar, because I found the batter bland. I frosted them with an eggless vanilla frosting...a recipe I found on another site. My niece had chocolate all over her face and hands.....thanks for the recipe.....they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I tried this recipie twice (once as a bundt cake, the other as cupcakes) and both times it was pretty dry. At first I thought maybe I just used the wrong type of frosting, but even the smaller cupcakes were pretty dry (even with tons of frosting). But I suppose if you had an egg allergy, it would be better than no cake at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Delicious. I baked in two 9.5" round pans & it was done in less than 30 minutes. Moist & rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I've been alergic to eggs since I was born, and I used this recipe before I knew about egg replacer. It's also useful for places were I cant find egg replacer. Who would want to live without chocolate cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My eldest daughter is allergic to eggs. We used this recipe last year for her 2nd Birthday and will be using it again for her 3rd. This is a beautiful cake, well worth making!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made this cake for my fiance, who doesnt eat eggs and he loves it. I have never in my life baked before and I found this very easy. I have since the first time made a few adjustments based on other recipes and advice. I like a bit more sweetness so I added sweet ghirardelli cocoa powder and 2 tbsp of vanilla and I use cream soda to add to sweetness. I also go overboard sometimes and add ghirardelli chocolate chips to it too (we're both choco-holics). For a little more fluff I add 1tsp of distilled white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Very strange ingredients, but it all came together vey well. Tasted like the chocolate part of a devil dog. It needs some kind of frosting, or to be topped with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
ONE OF THE BEST EGGLESS CAKE RECIPE EVER!!. Being a Baker myself and from a family of vegans,this recipe was easy and interesting and the final product was excellent!.I was really curious to try it after seeing the cola as aprt of the ingrediants. Thanks for the great recipe,Jenny!. shubahs Kuala Lumpur,Malaysia. cnc_shs@yahoo.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This recipe dont sound as good as others, it tastes weird because i made it, its not nice at all but is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I bake cakes all the time but this is the first time I made and eggless cake. It came out very crumbly and not very chocolatey tasting. It was fairly dry even though I did not overbake it at all. It tasted "floury". I did bake it in two 8 inch round pans instead of a bunt pan though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States