Eggless Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Tried it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I also doubled it. It formed ok but tasted like I was eating straight butter. It was very disappointing. I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I tries this yesterday, followed everything. I used cake flour, not self-raising. The taste is Delicious. Very buttery & moist. But it sank in the middle. I believe this recipe needs some alterations. Probably less butter or more flour, I'm not sure. Sorry, I can't help here. So, if someone out there, who can make adjustments to this recipe, pls do & share, as I'm looking for Eggless Butter cake. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This didn't work for me. First of all, what is 1 1/3 cups butter? Butter is measured in grams (or pounds) and since the butter needs to be beaten with the sugar, it can't be melted first. Secondly, was I confused over evaporated milk? I used evaporated milk which is quite runny. Did the recipe really mean sweetened condensed milk which is thicker? Mixing this with the butter/sugar mix did not work as it was too runny. It was like trying to mix rocks with water. Anyway, the cake has finished and it did not rise very well (a flop but not a complete flop) and is all burnt on top after only 45 minutes in the oven. Did I add too much butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
You MUST use CAKE FLOUR. All purpose has too much gluten, so without the eggs to lift it, it falls, gets mushy, etc. A good cake flour substitute is for every cup of all purpose flour you use, remove 2 tablespoons of it and add two tablespoons of cornstarch. Sift it together, and use in place of the cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rceklarc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was perfect with classic, homemade vanilla icing. Set perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylvrFlwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This cake came out really good for me, it didn't fall, it stayed very round, didnt burn or drip and was very moist with no funny after taste. It was very delicious and I am very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
The cake is very tasty. Makes a great substitute for cupcakes when cooking for someone with egg allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
The cake cooked through, unlike some others' experiences, but it tasted terrible. It has a very odd aftertaste, and frosting didn't help mask it. I'm glad I made another batter just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
What is this a joke?? I am trying to make a birthday cake for my son...I tried this first...I added to much butter my fault...so I tried a box mix with a sub for eggs...nope...so I come back and try this one again and put it in the oven at 9:48...it is now dripping over the sides of the pan...lovely burning smell of dripping mess on the bottom of the stove...mmmm I think you need to pull this recepie off of here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States