Egg Yolk Tempra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
we use this every year for christmas cookies. they are sooo pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
this was easy and fun if you have the extra time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
The coloring was dull, not shiny like the pic, but it was ok..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Cute idea! I made red, yellow, and green; unfortunately the red turned kind of orangey from the egg yolk. I "fingerpainted" the stuff onto the cookies to control thickness and also added some sprinkles on top. It really jazzed up my peanut butter cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This was a really fast and easy way to add color to my Valentine's Day heart sugar cookies. Unfortunately, due to the yellow color of the yolk, my red had a orange tint to it. No one cared though. But it really has to be applied thinly. A little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
My cookies did not resemble the picture at all. I put a thin coat as was suggested and the cookies were pale and streaky. I ended up covering all the cookies with icing to save the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Fun and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
very cool! i didn't change the recipe and i applied it thinly. came out just like the picture! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anesia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
i love this recipe. my mom always decorated sugar cookies like this as i was growing up and i could never remember how she made it until i found this recipe. the egg yolk part rang a bell. the shiny finish is great and a lot faster than waiting for the cookies to cool and making a whole icing recipe. just a note, this recipe is purely for looks. it wont have a sweet icing taste. there's really no taste at all but if you have a good cookie recipe, it doesn't matter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runswscissors949

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
After reading the negative reviews (smells/tastes bad) I was almost scared away from trying. But I was disperate for a quick decorating trick. This worked great - NO BAD SMELL, and TASTES great. One recipe makes enough to decorate 60+ cookies. I mixed the egg and water and then separated it into 5 small bowls to add desired color(s). It brushed on easily (I don't know how you could make it too thick, it is a very thin wash). I then added colored sprinkles/colored sugar and baked. The result was quick and pretty cookies that tasted great too. I baked the cookies on parchment paper, I used one sheet for all the cookies - no stains or any problems like others complained of. Definitely recommend for kids of all ages. This would also be great to use as a base and then add piped icing designs after the cookies are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States