Egg Yolk Painted Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This is really popular and much easier than making frosting...great way to decorate cookies that will be shipped as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I found this recipe to be EXCELLENT to do with my two grandaughters, ages 4 & 5. It was quick and easy to mix up, no time for them to get bored. The clean up was even faster. Then came the rolling, cutting, painting, sprinkling, & baking - We have done cut out cookies before and what a chore, all fun was lost, but this cookie dough was the easiest cookie dough I have EVER worked with. It rolled out so nice I was amazed. Out cut outs actually held together too! The painting and sprinkles were the highlight of this recipe for the girls. Towards the end, my 3 year old grandson came over and he too got involved painting. Things looks like so much fun before I knew it my daughter-in-law had joined in with the children painting too. We have some very "BEAUTIFUL" hand-painted, one or a kind cookies that only a grandma could be proud of, but oh how I could go on. The cookie itself baked up wonderful and of course we made them for Santa, but you know we had to sample a few on the way to make sure they were his favorite kind. Well, even Santa's gonna love these cookies, and even more so knowing they were specially made for him with such great pride by the children. Thank you Ms. Robin J. for the wonderful afternoon your recipe allowed me to share with my grandchildren, the day has been priceless. I recommend this recipe for anyone espically for grandma's and not only grandaughters, but even grandma's and grandsons. This recipe has now made it into our families traditional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Great idea! My cookies are very cute! I must admit, my iced cookies do look better, but these are close, and done in 1/4 of the time. I will use this again and again. Make sure you dilute the egg enough, 1/2 tsp of water maybe, if it is too thick it peels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
My kids had fun painting these cookies but they are not pretty and they have practically no taste. The sugar cookie itself is a decent recipe, but instead of the egg yolk paint make a confectioners' sugar glaze and ice the baked cookies after they cool. They look and taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Even my family, who will eat *anything,* didn't like these cookies. I loaded them with icing and still all I could taste was salt, and I didn't even put in the level teaspoon that the recipe called for. The cookies did have a soft and pleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Thank goodness I found this recipe again, I searched the entire sugar cookie recipes for it! I moved couldn't find my print out and couldn't seem to remember the name. I used this recipe last Christmas for the first time. These cookies turned out AWESOME! They held the cut-out shape better than any recipe I've ever used! My cookies were the best looking ones out of the bunch that was brought for the kids to decorate and I had several nice comments from the other moms. I thought the cookie tasted great. I was a little dubious using the powdered sugar, but was pleasantly surprised! It has a light flavor and soft texture. I think if you're looking for a cookie for more flavor then maybe a more eggy recipe will be what you are looking for. If you want a recipe for cut-outs that is super, then this is the one you want or try adding almond extract or icing them. I also made these for my kids at home and they had a blast painting the cookies. I was worried about using raw egg yolk, but when baked it is safe to eat and store. The colors are awesome! They are so bright and make beautiful colors. Just make sure the kids rinse their brushes before changing colors. The more colors you use the better. I am thinking of using this at Valentines for a large heart cookie for the teacher and at Easter with some beautiful Easter colors. Thanks Robin for saving the day with your awesome cookie recipe! I am making sure to put it in my recipe box, so I won't ever lose it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was the most difficult sugar cookie dough I have ever worked with. The dough kept cracking when I was rolling it out. I also agree that it was a bit on the salty side, and I even put a little less than a tsp in. I will probably use the "paint" idea again, but with a different cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I did not use the sugar cookie recipe, because I have a great one that has been handed down. I used the egg yolk paint and my children ages 2,4,and 7 loved it. My mother use to let me paint our sugar cookies when I was a child and have been looking for this recipe for a long time. If you are thinking of showing these cookies off they only turn out as great as the artist is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a simple and fun activity for younger kids. I had my nephews and niece (ages 3, 5, 7) do this and they loved it and were delighted with the cookies. Not much for flavor, so the next batch I added extra flavoring to the cookie dough I use. Simple, easy to clean and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The egg yolk icing was what I remember as a kid, but these cookies do not taste nearly as good as my mom's recipe. My husband complained that they are tasteless and bland... and I even tried adding in some cinnamon and nutmeg. Overall, the dough was a little hard to work with. It was crumbly and the cookies are very fragile even after baking. They just don't taste good. Do the egg yolk, but get yourself a good sugar cookie recipe. I need to call up my mother for mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States