Egg-White Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
These were fantastic! I wanted to make them lower fat, so I tried using apple sauce instead of the oil and it turned out great! The texture was perfect for crepes and this was surprisingly yummy considering the whole wheat flour. I added the berries while the crepe was in the pan as suggested, then I took the crepe out and added fat free rasperry yogourt. Definately a guilt free indulgence!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These are so, so, so good. And you totally don't need the oil. Substitute oil with 2 tsp unsweetened applesauce and this is a truly a 100% healthy recipe. Very impressed here. Mine made exactly 5, 1/4 cup crepes, at 62 calories each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made these last night and they were so easy and very yummy! I put in about a tablespoon of chocolate chips with the the mixed berries in the middle, and then topped the crepe with some reserved juice from the thawed-out berries. VERY GOOD! Also, I didn't use whole-wheat flour, as I didn't have any on hand, but all-purpose flour worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Le Center, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Using 1 whole egg, 3 egg whites, 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, a pich of baking soda, cinnamon, and no oil works better, and is healthier (calorie and grams fat wise), plus, I think it tates better, but letting it set for a couple hours makes any doughy-floury taste go away, but add the soda just before you cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I have 2 leftover egg whites and this recipe was just right for it. Other recipes use whole eggs or egg yolks, but never just egg whites. Using whole wheat flour, skim milk and no sugar, this is a healthy desert for me. I use banana and a little melted chocolate for the filling though. Next time I'll try to follow the recipe to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
These were great! I used blueberries and strawberries as the filling. I used small pinches of sugar here and there because the crepes themselves were not sweet at all. I also used applesauce in place of oil and it worked the same. I added 1 tsp vanilla to the batter as well.I reduced the berries in a sauce pan with a tsp of sugar and poured a-top the crepe! Will surley make this again but I'm thinking cinamon apples or banannas and chocolate chips next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Wow. This recipe is incredible and so easy! Just ate them for breakfast with fresh mixed berries, instead of frozen. I added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp sugar. I will make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agoldstone
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I made these for a Saturday breakfast and was a fantastic hit. Instead of filling the crepe with mixed berries, I filled it with melted chocolate, sliced almonds and sliced bananas. I also took other reviewers advice and used applesauce instead of vegetable oil. I found the ratio of flour and milk to result in thicker than expected batter so I added about two tablespoons more milk. Not only did the crepes come out thinner but made it easer to spread the batter in the pan. Also, I found that a dash of cinnamon and half a tablespoon of vanilla extract really adds a nice flavor to the crepe. The last alteration I made was cooking the batter in coconut oil instead of using the recommended cooking spray. It’s healthier and tastier! I decorated the crepes with powdered sugar and served them with vanilla yogurt, sliced strawberries and blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agoldstone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I made this recipe to use up some frozen fruit and whole wheat flour I had on hand. They were very tasty, and easy to make. Take this hint for making the crepes - do not attempt to flip the crepes until they look almost done on top. I doubled the fruit for this recipe and let it sit with a little sugar on top before using. Topped it with whipped cream and these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Absolutely delicious! And actually healthy! The fillings/fruit possibilities are endless with these. I didn't put the oil in but used 2 tsp of applesauce like someone else suggested. GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Dessert Crepes

Watch how to make these 5-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States