Egg Tarts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Deliciously Asian egg tarts. Easy to bake. Cheap dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
When I made this recipe, I had twice as much dough as filling, so I ended up making two batches. The first night I took the time to roll out the dough and make the individual tarts, but it took forever! However it was easier to eat and tasted great. For the second batch, I was a little bit in a hurry, so I made the mistake of not beating the eggs all the way. MAKE SURE THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN! The final product was yellow and white and tasted a little bit funny. Also for the second batch, I made one giant custard-pie instead of the individual tarts. This also tasted fine but you have to increase the baking time for a few minutes in order to cook the center, but be careful not to burn the crust. This recipe is just so perfect, and if you use a light butter for the crust, it is healthy too! Also, for both of the batches I did not have evaporated milk, so instead I melted 1 tablespoon of butter into 1/4 cup milk and it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Great receipe! My family enjoyed them tremedously even though I've made the crust too thin. I'll definietly make these again, with thicker crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I love the tart shell recipe. I use it for apple pie and my family loves it. Maybe I will attempt trying the egg filling next. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is excellent My family Favorited with fresh fruit and bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Very sweet but tastes good. I have only made custard part, without the pastry - by pouring the mixture into a pan. After making this recipe a few times I've found that cutting down on the sugar doesn't change its wonderful taste. For example, I use 1/2 cup of white sugar or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe was yummy!! I didn't think the filling was too sweet at all. I substituted confectioners sugar with caster sugar for the dough and found it tasted nicer. Also we ended up with way too much filling so I'd either make twice as much dough or half as much filling next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Good recipe. I didn't have butter so I used shortening. I didn't even have a rolling pin, so I just made circles using the palms of my hands - worked out fine. I ended up with 22 of them, using muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bizzyb
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Pretty good recipe. Very easy to follow. I recommend using a cookie cuter to get perfectly round tarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzyb
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Love the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States