Egg Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
omg, what an great recipe!! my boyfriend & i both thought this was simply delicious! i modified the ingredients a little by adding a full tsp. of mustard (spicy brown instead of dijon) & tossed in 3 chopped scallions. the crispy cornflake topping works well with the oh so fluffy souffle. thank you carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I have a slightly different version: 1. oil or butter generously the baking pan 2. do not need to cube the bread just simply place slices to the bottom of the baking dish. ( or butter slices of bread and put them butter side down) 3. spread the layer with cheese ( could be cheddar or any other you like) and a finely chopped onion ( i even tried it with parboiled broccoli and worked fine) ( no need for onion powder, fresh is better) 4. add salt and pepper to the egg and milk mixture 5. omit the cereal topping it just makes it kind of fake.... but add extra cheese on top just before baking ( if needed, in the morning push the bread under the egg-milk and add a bit of extra egg and milk if you think it seems dry) no need to cover if there is no cornflakes... I bake it at 350 for 4-50 minutes, but check as it seems to bake a bit fast, but if puffs up really beautifully !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
The best egg casserole I've tried. I always get asked for the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I made this for a Sunday brunch, and everyone loved it. This is a big time-saver, since you can prepare the dish the night before it is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
Had unexpected out of town guests overnight , pulled this recipe off the net and had instant success for breakfast the next day. Everyone throughly enjoyed the meal & couldn't believe I came up with such a great meal with such short notice. Of course I didn't give out any of my secrets !!! Thank you for sharing this with others like me !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Great recipe. Easy to prepare and steals the show at any brunch. Try using Wonder Bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This turned out really well. My 2 year old loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I'm not exactly sure why there are so many people who like this recipe. We made this for Easter, followed the recipe exactly, and 8/8 people thought is was terrible. Nothing but a mushy, heavy, egg-soaked bread mess! Completely ruined our Easter meal. Should have went with an egg frittata instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Disappointing. All the bread made this "souffle" a heavy, doughy, unsavory mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made these in ramekins so everyone could have their own and the puffed up so nicely; looked like chef hats in the center of the table. I used sourdough bread and cut it into small cubes. It was a huge hit and the leftover ones were reheated the next day and were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States