Egg Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made these in ramekins so everyone could have their own and the puffed up so nicely; looked like chef hats in the center of the table. I used sourdough bread and cut it into small cubes. It was a huge hit and the leftover ones were reheated the next day and were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very easy! Turned out really good, and it is also easy to modify for different people's tastes...can add mushrooms, spinach, etc...great for vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
My mother has made this as a Christmas Brunch for many years, with the addition of chopped ham pieces. I have added sausage or bacon from time to time. All time best, and reheats very well, so double the batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
My family has done this with ham every Christmas morning for about 50 plus years. Very tasty, always a hit and something to look forward to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I changed this a little bit because I don't like Swiss cheese. I put pepper Jack and velveta instead of the cheddar and less milk and 1 more egg. It's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I have a slightly different version: 1. oil or butter generously the baking pan 2. do not need to cube the bread just simply place slices to the bottom of the baking dish. ( or butter slices of bread and put them butter side down) 3. spread the layer with cheese ( could be cheddar or any other you like) and a finely chopped onion ( i even tried it with parboiled broccoli and worked fine) ( no need for onion powder, fresh is better) 4. add salt and pepper to the egg and milk mixture 5. omit the cereal topping it just makes it kind of fake.... but add extra cheese on top just before baking ( if needed, in the morning push the bread under the egg-milk and add a bit of extra egg and milk if you think it seems dry) no need to cover if there is no cornflakes... I bake it at 350 for 4-50 minutes, but check as it seems to bake a bit fast, but if puffs up really beautifully !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I'm not exactly sure why there are so many people who like this recipe. We made this for Easter, followed the recipe exactly, and 8/8 people thought is was terrible. Nothing but a mushy, heavy, egg-soaked bread mess! Completely ruined our Easter meal. Should have went with an egg frittata instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Great recipe! Perfect if you are hosting breakfast or brunch. It was nice to just throw it in the oven in the morning. My book club loved it. I added turkey bacon to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This turned out really well. My 2 year old loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Great recipe. Easy to prepare and steals the show at any brunch. Try using Wonder Bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States