Egg Salad Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I can't imagine that anyone would add dried onion flakes to a salad like this without hydrating the onions first. Seems like a lot of people did though. I boiled 8 large eggs, grated 1/4 of a med onion, (because I do like the flavor of onion), added 1/4 teas. onion salt instead of salt, added 1 teas. lemon juice and cut the mayo to 1/2 cup. Outstanding egg salad. I hardly ever made egg salad but will make it more often now. Can't wait to share this with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Egg salad is one of those things that's pretty hard to mess up. Eggs, mayo, mustard, dill relish, salt and pepper - right? But when this gem of a recipe landed on my RSS feed, I just *knew* I had to try it. I now have a new favorite way to make egg salad sandwiches. The mustard powder gives it that mustardy flavor without the extra vinegar that's present in prepared mustard. And the dill weed! Oh my - THAT is what sets this whole recipe apart. With a more intense dill flavor than regular dill relish, it perfectly compliments the eggs and mayo. And, since we love onions, I finely chopped about 2 Tblsp. of fresh onion into my salad instead of the plain onion flakes (which can sometimes be more pungent than the "real" thing). Try this recipe - you won't be disappointed! Thanks, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Someone said there was something missing and I agree. The missing ingredient is paprika. Can't make egg salad without it. Other than that, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
very good,instead of a full cup of mayo,i used 1/2mayo and 1/2 miracle whip,and i added 1/4 cup of finely chopped celery and green onion,I also used a potato masher to mash up the eggs worked fast and sufficiently!! "DE-LISHY-OH -SO"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I did a few things differently but still very tasty: Didnt use the dill weed Added a 1/4 teaspoon of paprika Used 1/2 cup mayo Added 1 tablespoon of dijon mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
Delicious! This will be my favorite recipe for egg salad. Followed the recipe exactly except I did'nt have any onion flakes so I used fresh chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Good, but I made some changes based on the other reviews. Cut the mayo to 3/4 cup at least, used 2 tsp prepared mustard, and fresh onion chopped fine. Because it made so much, I took the leftover added it along with 2 tsp of pickle relish to 2 leftover baked potatoes that I chopped up. Made great potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was a very good egg salad. I used minced onions instead of the dried onion flakes & I served it on a honey wheat bread w/ leaf lettuce & a slice of havarti cheese. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
try adding bacon my mothers best friend makes it like that and it turns out awsome she used real bacon bits :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Very good. 4.5 stars. I omitted the dill and used chopped onion instead of flakes. This hit the spot for comfort food. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States