Egg Salad Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for.Great flavor! I used fresh onion instead of dried. Will try fresh dill next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Delicious. The dill certainly added a nice flavor to it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This recipe is great! I made a vegan version, so I subbed mayo for vegenaise and the egg for drained firm tofu. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
The only change I made: I used minced green onions because I could not find onion "flakes." Is dried minced onion what is meant? Clarify, please. Otherwise, my main complaint is that, with the exception of the pepper and mustard, amounts given for seasonings are heavy-handed for my taste. The first thing I noticed was saltiness. Now, my salt shaker and I are fast friends, so when I say something's a little on the salty side, it's a considerable problem. Half the amount should do it. Fortunately, it's not inedible once it's spread on bread, but the saltiness is still very noticeable. Second, the garlic powder leaves an unpleasantly heavy aftertaste. Again, I like garlic, but somehow a pronounced garlic aftertaste from an egg salad seems a little strange. You will need breath mints. Third, the dill is overpowering at the amount listed. I like to taste the eggs in egg salad. In the end, all I ended up tasting was salt, dill and garlic, pretty much in that order. The eggs seemed to be nothing more than a vehicle, which I find a shame. The delicate taste of egg just couldn't survive the onslaught of seasonings. Perhaps the original amounts would work better with fresh garlic and dill. With dried, they're just too much. I would cut each in half, at least. I will most likely make this again, because I think it has great potential. But I will not use the original seasoning amounts unless I am able to use fresh ingredients, and I will cut the salt back in any case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Love It!.. I did cut back the mayo.. add only 3/4 cup, I used fresh onions. put it all in the food processor and let it go..I could not wait for it to chill.. so good! Next time I am going to add black olives and let it chill..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Added paprika and sugar. Substituted onion powder instead of onion flakes, dash of cayenne instead of black pepper. Good egg salad. Pops in bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
So easy and delicious. Definitely use fresh diced or minced onion instead of dried, and you can cut back the mayonnaise to 2/3 cup. Otherwise excellent as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I followed the recipe as written except 1/2 cup of mayo and we all thought it was to salty. I will leave out the 1/2 tsp. of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
So easy to make and so good I love egg salad and this recipe is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
very good, I doubled recipe=do not add more mayo=1 cup is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States