Egg Salad Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This definitely had way too much salt, and too much mayonnaise; it drowned out almost all of the egg flavor, and left you with basically a garlic/pickle taste without the crunch. Not a fan. Maybe we were just used to the less-is-more way we remember our moms making it when we were kids; a bit drier (less mayo), and just enough salt so the egg wasn't completely bland, and a bit of black pepper. Maybe she put mustard in there - that part was pretty good in this recipe, and though I'm a fan of dill and certainly garlic, it just didn't play out in this concoction very well. Unless you plan on adding a bunch of smaller items (diced/minced onion, minced garlic, celery, bacon/ham bits, or whatever else) - definitely cut the mayo down and add gradually to taste; that part was a huge factor, I think, in why this didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Personally, I prefer using a REAL onion. I also like a little crunch in mine so I used some celery that's been cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wolfwyndd
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is an outstand egg salad, very tasty! I will omit the salt next time. I really don't think it needs it. Well maybe just a pinch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Too much dill. I preferred using chopped dill pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Next time I will use less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Best egg salad sammy EVER!! I only used 5 eggs, 1/2 C mayo and 2T finely minced onions and full measure of rest of ingredients. LOVE the dill!! Thanks, Sara for sharing. This is my new go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This recipe showed up at the perfect time...due to too a surplus of eggs in the fridge. Subbed real onions (green onions, to be exact) and added paprika...I really didn't measure anything, but I definitely didn't use 1 whole cup of mayo...awesome recipe...I love the reviews that give a few added hints. Thanks Sara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is best over steamed Brocolli. The perfect side dish for a holiday dinner. Kids love it & eat their veggies, and adults can't get enought of it. I have served this for years, & it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Pretty good recipe, next time I'll try it with fresh dill. Way too much mayo in my opinion. I only used 3/4 cup and still felt like it was a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I buttered my white bread and cut off the crust before placing the egg mixture on top. Then I sliced it into two rectangle strips. Reminded me of Tea Time in London.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States