Egg Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This was very good. I love olives; so, I liked it a lot. Must be a fan of olives; or, you might not like it. But, it was overall very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McFarland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Booneville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I grew up with this as a staple from both my mother and grandmother. We always add just a touch of yellow mustard. It was made in small batches too, 2 eggs at a time usually and way less mayo. I think maybe 1 and 1/2 tsp max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Was looking for something different for egg salad and came across this recipe. Liking olives, I gave it a try. Great! I did add chopped celery as I like the flavor and added crunch. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I too love eggs, and love olives, but when I mixed the two my taste buds weren't thankfull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I loved this egg salad. I even added a little shredded cheese the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I’m of the school of thought that when it comes to cooking season to taste! What is too salty/not enough salt, bland/bold, too peppery/needed pepper varies, depending on whose palate is doing the tasting! So…if it’s too bland, add some seasoning! I added pretty much the first thing I grabbed, some Sazon seasoning and a bit of ground mustard, tho’ any number of things I had in my spice cabinet would have worked – Penzey’s Fox Point Seasoning, Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt, Lawrey’s Seasoned Salt, celery Salt, garlic salt, even Montreal Steak Seasoning – and the list could go on. Seems too peppery? Again, add it to taste! Start with a small amount, add more if you like. There are no boo-boos that way. I didn’t mash the eggs; I prefer my egg salad chunkier, however… if you were going to make canapés with this, on rye rounds, for example, with a garnish of fresh dill or parsley, the mashed version would not only spread better, it would be more fitting and easier to eat as a finger food. Also, it’s no problem to add more or less mayonnaise to your liking. I didn’t measure; I just dumped it in there till it was the way I wanted it. To please both Hubs’ and my palates, I knew we’d like the bite of fresh green onion and the crunch of chopped celery, so I added both. I’ve never added green olives before (tho’ I recall adding them to AR’s “Mother-in-Law Eggs” and liking them) and, while I may not add them routinely, I did enjoy them for something different than “the usual.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
A good base, but felt it needed more spice. I added a teaspoon of paprika, doubled the black pepper, a half tsp of cajun seasonings, and a finely chopped rib of celery and a green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Love this egg salad, for both taste and cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I would have never thought of adding Spanish olives to egg salad but it was delicious! Will definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I tried this recipe yesterday after a craving for egg salad, no celery. I do love olives and never thought of adding any. I did add a bit of Dijon mustard and mixed with LF mayo. I served on romaine like others suggested. It was the best and no bread?? even better! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States