Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
So yummy. My husband and I truly loved them. Like most everyone I left out the msg. They tasted just like restaurant eggrolls, the ones from authentic Chinese gourmet restaurants. They were quick and easy. I'm so adding these to our regular line up. Thanks, Donna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Too much soy sauce. Not really a good filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
very easy and great! i didn't use the msg and used broccoli slaw as well as cabbage for the bean sprouts. i used shrimp and no ground meat . but love the idea for an option to do so the next time that i make the filling. i only made a couple to try and left the rest of the filling in a container in the fridge to make another day thank you so much for this post i will make this over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
my hubby loved these. I did double the oyster sauce and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Not too shabby! Didn't use any meat at all, or the MSG and these still had a real nice flavor! Also threw in a bit of ground ginger, and on the wrappers I melted some butter and brown sugar together in a cup to "baste" onto the inside of the wrappers before putting in the filler, which not only gives it some more flavor, but also helps the wrap stick and stay together. Would definitely make these again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceCadet99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Tasty but I ramped the flavor up by increasing the amounts of spices a bit and added a 1/4 tsp five spice chinese powder, omitted the bean sprouts and added a can ot drained and chopped water chestnuts, omitted the MSG, had no gr onions so I added to taste some onion powder. It was a little too heavy on the meat for me and next time will add more cabbabe. I too used the bag of slaw mix instead of slicing a head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
sounds good, except why use MSG, most good chinese places don't use it anymore,some people have bad side affects from it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good! I didn't have shrimp or ground beef this evening, so I used ground pork which I seasoned very well with salt, pepper, and onion powder before adding to the veggie mixture. I also did not have celery but still wanted the crunch factor - so I chopped up some water chestnuts and added those instead. Also, I used beef bollioun (dry) instead of MSG because I never use it in our home. Also, I didn't have oyster juice, so I used 3 TBS of chicken stock instead (which was fine since this roll didn't have shrimp in it). I would suggest salting the veggies well prior to sweating them as this helps to wilt them. Drain the water off of the veggies and drain the browned pork before combining. Be careful with the heat of the oil. These cook fairly quickly so keep a close eye on them. I used canola oil to fry ours because it is a healthier option (no olive oil as it will burn at that temperature).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These egg rolls were excellent. I omitted the meat altogether and just used salad (tiny) shrimp. I doubled the green onions and the garlic, and used the prepared cole slaw mix in the bag. I also didn't deep fry them. Instead I pan fried them. For those who had trouble with rolling the egg rolls, here's how you do it - lay the wrapper on your work surface with one point facing you. Put the filling in the bottom third of the wrapper. Roll up to the halfway point, rub some egg whites on the two top sides of the wrapper, fold the two ends in and continue rolling upwards. Works like a charm every time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~X~
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Good egg rolls, but would be restaurant quality with a few minor changes. 3 TBSP of oyster sauce was way too much; made the rolls taste too fishy. Next time I'd try 1-1/2 TBSP or less. Also, 5 TBSP of soy sauce was a little too much in the sense that it made the egg roll filling (still in the wok) a little too soggy. Next time I'd try 3 TBSP of soy sauce and add more if necessary at the end during the taste test before rolling. I also added 1/4 tsp of ground ginger because it's a flavor usually found in egg rolls. I used a 1 LB. bag of cole slaw mix (without dressing) instead of a head of cabbage for convenience. Use ground pork instead of beef, and next time I might skip out on shrimp because I don't think it added much to the egg rolls, but I'll have to see about that. With those changes, these egg rolls should be better next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~X~

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States