Egg Paint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Used this recipe with the best rolled sugar cookie recipe from this site. This was a blast! I will be using this recipe every time we decorate sugar cookies. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I added a little water (maybe 1/2 tsp) to my yolk. I only needed a tiny bit of "paint", so I divided it and colored it pink, teal, and purple. I used this to paint Easter egg shapes cut out of pie crust. The colors deepened as the shapes baked and the results were very pretty. I used these to top a pumpkin pie. This is a great method for adding color without adding sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
very neat, and super easy technique to colour your cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This recipe is so simple, yet great. My grandsons had the best time painting sugar cookies and they turned out so pretty. Thanks for this tip. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This was so easy and my cookies came out looking great. I actually just used half a yolk and some food coloring (2 egg yolks to make 4 colors) and painted designs on egg shaped sugar cookies. The colors were bright and it couldn't have been easier. I will remember this when Christmas rolls around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I just tried this on sugar cookies with my kids. They had so much fun. They didn't even want to use the sprinkles (which are messier and more expensive). The cookies turned out beautiful. This will definitely become a new tradition for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very easy way to decorate my Easter cookies. The colours were vibrant and just looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I used this to paint fall colors on sugar cookies that were in the shapes of leaves. I used Wilton icing colors (which is super concentrated food coloring). I'd say I used a hearty glob on a toothpick for each color (how's that for exact measurements). The colors were vibrant and shiny. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Photo by k8norris
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Wonderful! I copied the fall leaves and they turned out beautifully. I also added 2 or 3 drops of Maple Extract to flavor the wash slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
The kids loved painting! Quick note, the yolk is yellow, dont forget that when trying to get the right color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

How to Beat Egg Whites

Learn how to beat egg whites for a light, airy texture for cakes and mousses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States